1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Emily

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Emily, a tutor from Hofstra University

Emily

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of Hofstra University, where I received a B.A. in English with a concentration in Creative Writing & Literature. I also had minor studies in Spanish and Fine Arts. Additionally, I have received a TEFL/TESOL certification from International TEFL Academy. I enjoy travel and was fortunate enough to be given the opportunity to live in Japan for three years while teaching English to children ages 3 to 12 at an after school immersion program. Once I returned home to Massachusetts, I worked at a public elementary school as the 4th grade ESL teacher. Working with kids has always been a lot of fun, and I find it easy to relate to them and see their individual personalities shine. I'm interested in tutoring a variety of English subjects, but I'm most eager to tutor creative writing and essay writing/editing. I feel like my strengths lie in these areas, given my lifelong enthusiasm for writing and literature. Finding the right words to transfer ideas from brain to page can be quite difficult and frustrating, and I'm confident that with my varied experiences editing an array of writing styles, I will be able to assists students in expressing their ideas accurately. In my spare time, I like drawing, reading, writing, and obsessing over my dog.

Connect with a tutor like Emily

Emily’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Hofstra University - Bachelor in Arts, Creative Writing

Hobbies

My main hobby is art. I've been creative ever since I was little. For the most part, I prefer to draw using traditional media, with my favorites being pen and ink, but I am also teaching myself how to draw digitally. Acrylic painting is something that I am starting to get back into, as well. I tend to choose to read contemporary fiction and YA books, though I open up to other genres when I listen to audiobooks. When I write, I like to write short stories or children's stories, as I hope to one day write and/or illustrate picture books. I love watching animated movies, listening to music and podcasts, and taking way too many pictures of my dog.

Tutoring Subjects

Adult ESL/ELL

Art

Art Hour

College Application Essays

Creative Writing

Drawing

Elementary School English

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

High School Writing

Middle School English

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Professional Certifications

PSAT Writing Skills

SAT Writing and Language

TESOL - Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

Test Prep

Visual Arts

Connect with a tutor like Emily