1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Allyssa

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Allyssa, a tutor from Washington State University

Allyssa

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a current student at Washington State University. I will receive my Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education with a focus on teaching English as a second language in May 2021. Since I was in high school I have been working with kids of all ages and in all different classroom settings, but right now I am currently the student teacher in a first grade classroom. I have tutored middle age kids in an after school program, but my true calling is with younger students. That is where all of the building blocks of learning are put into place! While I can tutor any subject K-8 I am most passionate about teaching English as a second language to any age (as I am TEFL certified). In my experience I am the most successful with phonics, learning to read and basic math. These are the key areas for younger students which really helps when they are faced with more layered problems. I am a huge believer in the importance of education and know how much it can impact the quality of a student's confidence and life. In my spare time I love reading novels by Stephen King and kayaking when it is nice out.

Connect with a tutor like Allyssa

Allyssa’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Washington State University - Bachelor of Education, Elementary School Teaching

Hobbies

My hobbies and interests are very wide in range. The most important hobby in my life is definitely reading, I am trying to work my way through the entire Stephen King collection! Harry Potter is where all of my love for reading stemmed. Go Ravenclaw! Another really big hobby in my life is art, I enjoy painting and drawing but pottery is my passion! During the summers I like being outside in the woods! Whether I am hiking, kayaking or camping I am always my most happy in nature! I hope we can share some of these interests and I would love to hear about yours!

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Phonics

Connect with a tutor like Allyssa