Become a math whiz with AI Tutoring, Practice Questions & more.

HotmathMath Homework. Do It Faster, Learn It Better.


The Cartesian plane is divided into four quadrants. These are numbered from I through IV , starting with the upper right and going around counterclockwise. (For some reason everybody uses roman numerals for this).

Math diagram

In Quadrant I , both the x – and y -coordinates are positive; in Quadrant II , the x -coordinate is negative, but the y -coordinate is positive; in Quadrant III both are negative; and in Quadrant IV , x is positive but y is negative.

Points which lie on an axis (i.e., which have at least one coordinate equal to 0 ) are said not to be in any quadrant. Coordinates of the form ( x,0 ) lie on the horizontal x -axis, and coordinates of the form ( 0,y ) lie on the vertical y -axis.

Subjects Near Me
Popular Cities
Popular Subjects
Download our free learning tools apps and test prep books
varsity tutors app storevarsity tutors google play storevarsity tutors amazon storevarsity tutors ibooks store