Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Laura

I am passionate about helping others break down barriers in order to achieve success. This passion is the basis of my teaching philosophy: teachers and students must work together as an engaged unit to find the best learning solutions for the student. My past teaching and tutoring experience has prepared me to work with varying age groups and cultural/academic backgrounds. While in high school, I volunteered to be a companion for young children with Cerebral Palsy. During my years at Rhodes College, I tutored adults in ESL and aided them in their job search and was a Teaching Assistant for fellow Anthropology majors. For the past three years, I was a Kindergarten teacher at an international, bilingual school in Dakar, Senegal and a private SAT/ESL/TOEFL and College Prep tutor for middle school and high school students of varying nationalities. I am currently in my first year in Boston University’s Pardee School Master of Arts in International Affairs program where I will also receive a certificate in African Studies. Outside of academia, I enjoy exploring where I live, spending time with new and old friends, and reading. Just as my personal interests are diverse so are the subjects that I teach. However, my favorite subjects to teach are SAT Math and TOEFL because I have had great success in breaking down the material for past students.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Rhodes College - Bachelors, Anthropology/Sociology

Graduate Degree:

 Boston University - Masters, International Affairs

ACT Composite: 32

ACT English: 35

ACT Math: 33

ACT Reading: 31

ACT Science: 30

SAT Composite: 2010

SAT Math: 750

Traveling, spending time with friends, reading, speaking other languages

College English

College Level American History

Conversational French

Elementary School Math

French 1

High School English

High School Level American History

Homework Support

IB Mathematical Studies

IB Mathematics

Other

SAT Subject Tests Prep

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization