Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Drew

I recently graduated from the University of Massachusetts with a MS in Electrical Engineering. Before that, I attended Worcester Polytechnic Institute where I obtained a BS in Electrical & Computer Engineering. I currently work for an industry-leading designer and manufacturer of integrated circuits where I deal with radio-frequency communication devices for use in a broad array of applications.

I specialize in teaching the areas of math, science and also some low-level computer programming topics. I have been involved with organizing and leading many review and study groups throughout college. I am passionate about finding the right method to help the student master their subject matter. My goal, outside of just helping someone with their material, is to develop strong problem-solving skills and habits that can be applied to their future work. I think my approachable communication style as well my desire to see their understanding ‘click’ with a student make me a great tutor.

Outside of my full-time job and tutoring I enjoy golfing, snowboarding, playing guitar and hanging with my family and friends.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Worcester Polytechnic Institute - Bachelors, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Graduate Degree:

 University of Massachusetts-Lowell - Masters, Electrical Engineering

Pro Sports, Golfing, Snowboarding, the beach, guitar

10th Grade Math

11th Grade Math

12th Grade Math

6th Grade Math

7th Grade Math

8th Grade Math

9th Grade Math

Computer Programming

Conversational French

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Electromagnetism

Elementary School Math

French 1

College Math

Python

Scientific Programming

Technology and Computer Science

What is your teaching philosophy?

I like to teach the student how to approach a problem. What questions do they ask themselves before they even start getting into the nitty-gritty details of a question? "What is given to me?" "What do I need to find?" "What tools do I know that would help to solve this?" Once they're comfortable dissecting a problem it becomes much easier to apply the theory they're learning.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I would inquire about and assess their strengths and weaknesses. I'd also ask them where they think they could improve and what's getting in the way of reaching that goal. Once you identify the problem(s) we can begin to correct them one at a time.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

Allow them to think through a problem out loud. If they get stuck I try to nudge them in the correct direction with a context clue or by wording something another way. When they figure something out on their own it gives them more confidence to attack other problems in a similar way.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

I would point to real world applications and the success of motivated individuals. Things are taught for a reason, whether or not they seem important. Successful learning should naturally create motivation because there's an inherent pride that comes from figuring something out.