Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Dominique

I first started tutoring nearly 20 years ago, and have worked with elementary, middle school, high school and adult students, covering a variety of subjects. I mainly focus on helping students achieve academic success in the language arts (essay, creative and legal writing, reading comprehension, and research), social studies related subjects (government, law, U.S. and comparative history), public speaking and study skills.

Highlights of my experience working to help students achieve academic success include:

--A year as an AmeriCorps volunteer where I worked as a literacy tutor and co-managed an after school homework center
--Work as a summer school teacher, teaching exploratory subjects
--Working with ESL students, and students from different cultures
--teaching chess skills to kindergartners and first graders
--working with at-risk youth and juvenile offenders

I have a Bachelor of Science in Political Science, with minors in Philosophy and French, and a Juris Doctorate. I passed the New York State bar exam, and worked as a litigator, before transitioning to non-profit work and relocating to Jacksonville. I am a lifelong learner and believe that every person can be motivated to continue to learn beyond the four walls of the classroom!

Primary Tutoring Subjects:

Reading
Writing
Essay Editing
College Essays
Summer Tutoring
Study Skills And Organization
Public Speaking
Homework Support
English
ESL/ELL

Undergraduate Degree:

 Santa Clara University - Bachelors, Political Science

Graduate Degree:

 St. Thomas University School of Law - Masters, J.D., Law

reading, gardening, dancing, yoga, cooking, pets, art, languages and travel

College English

High School English

Homework Support

Other

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer