1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Jillian

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Jillian, a tutor from Bryn Mawr College

Jillian

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of both Bryn Mawr College, where I received a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature, and The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where I earned a Master of Arts in Folklore with a focus on African American folklife. Over the past thirty years, I have taught and tutored English (reading, writing, speaking, and listening) to hundreds of students, aged from middle school to second-year college. In addition to teaching native English speakers, I also have experience and love working with speakers of other languages who want to perfect their spoken or written English. Some of my favorite tutoring jobs have included working with middle school students struggling to understand their homework; helping high school students crafting their college admissions essays; assisting students new to the English language in completing their schoolwork in other subjects, and showing students how to edit their own writing. My favorite thing about teaching and tutoring is watching students master new concepts or skills because I was able to show them a new way to learn. In my free time, I pursue my interests in folklore and literature, practice my hobbies (piano and pottery), and relax with friends and family.


Connect with a tutor like Jillian

Jillian’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Bryn Mawr College - Bachelor in Arts, English

Graduate Degree: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill - Master of Arts, Folklore Studies

Test Scores

SAT Composite (1600 scale): 1460

SAT Math: 740

Hobbies

My hobbies are playing the piano, swimming, and hand-building pottery. I love traveling, especially when it means I get to see family and friends who live far away. In my free time, I read, go for long walks and bike rides, and when possible, spend time at the beach. Most of all, I love doing all of these activities with friends and family who share my interests.

Tutoring Subjects

Admissions

Adult Literacy

College Application Essays

College English

College Level American Literature

Creative Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Literature

Middle School English

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Reading

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Jillian