1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Alise

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Alise, a tutor from University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Alise

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated way back in 1989 from the Univ. of MN, Duluth, with an M.A. in Communication Disorders. I worked as a Speech Therapist for a total of 20 years, mostly with adults, but with children sometimes also. During that time, I spent about a year once volunteering as a reading tutor in our local community, where I had the opportunity to help a grade-school aged girl. After leaving Speech Therapy, I worked as an Adult community Education Instructor for a few years, teaching crochet, tatting, herb-related classes, memory strategies, and Essentrics (a fitness program)

Through all these avenues, I really enjoyed working with my clients to find out what their personal goals were and finding creative ways to help them achieve them. Everyone is unique- strokes (or whatever) do not affect everyone the same way, nor do people have the same natural strengths and weaknesses or the same support systems. When my therapy materials or lesson plans did not meet the needs of my clients, I did research, got creative, and modified what I had or made up new materials. And I did that a lot!

I am happy to be able to tutor in the following areas: Adult Literacy, English, Executive Functioning, Learning Differences,
Phonics,, and Reading.

Connect with a tutor like Alise

Alise’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh - Bachelor of Science, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Graduate Degree: University of Minnesota-Duluth - Master of Arts, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Hobbies

I have many interests! I do many types of arts and crafts- current, main interests include crocheting, calligraphy, and print-making. I also am very interested in herbal medicine (I have a Master Herbalist Diploma), essential oils, wild-crafting, and foraging. I am also, and mostly, interested in developing a personal relationship with YHVH God, and fulfilling my purpose for being here in order to please Him and have a happier life because I am not floundering around.

Tutoring Subjects

Adult Literacy

English

Executive Functioning

Learning Differences

Phonics

Reading

Connect with a tutor like Alise