1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Matthew

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Matthew, a tutor from Bowling Green State University-Main Campus


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a proud graduate of Bowling Green State University, a liberal arts school that specializes in education. I received my Bachelor of Arts in Jazz Studies, minoring in French and Italian. As a dual citizen of France and the United States, I have studied French language and culture my entire life. This foundation served me well as I developed my fluency in Italian and Spanish. I have travelled to Europe countless times to visit family in Spain and France. I consider this opportunity to learn languages within and beyond academic environments to be invaluable for establishing cultural awareness, a prerequisite for meaningful and lasting linguistic education. My most recent job was working with a team of English teachers in a suburb of Venice called Mestre. My time there allowed me to develop a teaching philosophy that coincides with my personal values. I believe with time and dedication students can achieve anything. I believe educational experiences must be tailored to the student as much as possible. I believe humor and lightheartedness must always have a place in the classroom. Who wants to learn in a stuffy, awkward, or unauthentic atmosphere? Learning a language is about broadening one's means of communication. Limiting that new aptitude to formal settings will only stunt a student's growth in practical application.

I also have some experience teaching music. During my time at Bowling Green State University, I had a number of opportunities to teach about the guitar and an Indian instrument called the sitar. Upon the invitation of the World Music department of the College of Musical Arts, I gave a number of lectures about Indian classical music. These lectures typically included a brief performance component. These were unique experiences that allowed me to gain a clearer understanding of my musical identity and how I can use my passion to expand peoples' cultural awareness. I have also taught a number of private lessons with each instrument, mostly to beginner level musicians. Whether learning a new language or instrument, the goal should be simple: continue to build your vocabulary, immerse yourself in the culture or tradition that vocabulary stems from, and use those skills to forge new connections. This leap from personal growth to universal understanding is what makes education such a rewarding process, one I look forward to sharing. Here is the section concerning my Interests and Hobbies Although I'm working with foreign languages in a professional context, I enjoy maintaining my proficiency through various means during my free time. Being able to speak French, Spanish, and Italian allows me to enjoy many different cultural perspectives. I try to keep up with the news as much as I can through online media. In my opinion being able to teach these languages successfully involves discussing and incorporating these perspectives into lessons. Whether dealing with a beginner or more advanced student I try to be a window into this other world that I have experienced so that students may gain an authentic sense of inspiration. As a consequence, I would hope that students have an easier time staying concentrated and motivated. Other than keeping up with current events, I am also interested in early medieval European history. To learn more about it I read and watch documentaries in various languages, often in Italian. The language's extraordinary capacity for imagery and creative expression bring life into a subject that may otherwise seem monotonous.

I enjoy running in nature and practicing various styles of yoga. I have found that having a fitness regimen helps me think and communicate more effectively. It also makes me a more patient and resilient individual, some traits that I hope to pass on to my students.

Connect with a tutor like Matthew

Matthew’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Bowling Green State University-Main Campus - Bachelor of Fine Arts, Jazz Studies


Although I’m working with foreign languages in a professional context, I do enjoy maintaining my proficiency through various means during my free time. Being able to speak French, Spanish, and Italian allows me to enjoy media and cultural perspectives from around the world. I particularly enjoy reading and watching documentaries about ancient history in Italian. It seems that the nature of the language somehow lends itself to telling the story of man with an exceptional level of expression and imagery. Apart from reading I am an avid runner. I was on the cross-country team in high school and running has been a part of my personal fitness regimen ever since. Otherwise, practicing music takes up a lot of my free time. The styles of music that I have decided to focus on, Jazz and Classical Indian, demand a lot of time and dedication.

Tutoring Subjects

AP French Language and Culture

Conversational French

Conversational Italian


French 1

French 2

French 3

French 4





Connect with a tutor like Matthew