1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Andrea

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Andrea, a tutor from Queens University Belfast

Andrea

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My passion for helping students began at a young age. Watching a child learn and achieve something is a wonderful experience. I particularly enjoy the diversity of personalities, abilities, backgrounds and cultures I have worked with over the years. I passionately believe in a child centered approach. This involves getting to know the child, their interests and their learning style in order to maximize their learning potential. I also believe in a collaborative approach to teaching were all relevant people have their recommendations and concerns heard, recognized and integrated into the child's education. When teaching, I like to integrate a lot of different elements into the learning experience were appropriate including art, exploration, music and movement. I believe this helps to include all pupils and cater to different learning styles.
Although a lot of my experience is in Special Education, I have taught in mainstream education as well. The skills I have acquired lend themselves to all pupils learning styles.
I received a bachelor's degree in Primary Education from Queen's University in Belfast, Ireland. I also have a master's degree in Special Education (with specialist studies in Autism Spectrum Disorders) from Dublin City University in Dublin, Ireland. I have completed over forty professional development courses in education since leaving college, both in general and special education. I constantly strive to keep educating myself further.
My twelve year teaching experience includes five years in a school for Mild General Learning Difficulties (Ages 4-18), three years establishing a special class for pupils with ASD (Ages 5-12), two years teaching Kindergarten and two years teaching in Special Education with small groups or one to one tutoring (Ages 5-12). Through each experience I have gained a lot of knowledge and understanding of a wide range of learning needs in a range of contexts.
My favorite subjects to tutor are Mathematics and English. Through working with a wide variety of pupils I have had to reimagine these subjects in their purest and basic forms to make them more accessible to all pupils.

Connect with a tutor like Andrea

Andrea’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Queens University Belfast - Bachelor of Education, Geography

Graduate Degree: Dublin City University - Masters in Education, Special Education

Hobbies

Literature, The Arts, Hiking, Skiing and Football.

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School

Elementary School English

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

Math

Science

Special Education

Connect with a tutor like Andrea