1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Sara

Expert online tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Sara, a tutor from American University

Sara

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a current undergraduate student at American University where I am enrolled in a dual Bachelors's and Masters's program. My undergraduate coursework includes my major in Justice, Law, and Criminology and minors are Public Policy and Religion. My masters' concentration is in Justice and Public Policy. Despite being only an undergrad, I have extensive experience in the subjects I am a tutor for. In high school, I attended a rigorous boarding school related to UNC Chapel Hill where I took many courses in the humanities including Modern World Fiction, Shakespeare, British Literature, and 20th-Century Philosophy. While there I was a teaching assistant in the humanities department, tutored my peers, and edited college application essays. Out of all the subjects I tutor, comparative literature and philosophy are my favorite.
Ultimately I'm a tutor because I love to learn. All throughout my life I have truly enjoyed school and the process of learning and understanding the world around me. I first decided to tutor because my younger brother (7 years my junior) has a learning disability and it made me sad how he did not also have this love for learning because it was difficult for him to learn in a "normal" classroom setting. As he was going through grade school I saw how this affected him inside and outside of school, especially regarding reading and writing, so I took it upon myself to sit down with him and give him that individualized attention that he wasn't getting in the classroom setting. This experience helping someone I deeply care about made me want to help more people and inspire the same passion in them that I have. Outside of my academic pursuits, I love being outdoors and going backpacking, camping, and rock climbing.

Connect with a tutor like Sara

Sara’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: American University - Bachelor in Arts, Criminal Justice

Hobbies

Running, reading, hiking, rock climbing camping

Tutoring Subjects

A Level Prep

A Level Citizenship

A Level English Literature

Academic Coaching

ACT English

ACT Science

ACT Writing

Adult Literacy

American Literature

AP Art History

AP Environmental Science

Art History

College Application Essays

College English

Elementary School

Elementary School English

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

Environmental Science

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Level American History

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

IB Philosophy

IB World Religions

Languages

Latin 1

Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Phonics

Public Speaking

Science

Social Sciences

Social Studies

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Test Prep

World Religions

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Sara