1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like LaVada

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of LaVada, a tutor from Indiana University-Southeast

LaVada

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have 2 Bachelor Degrees. My first degree in 1990 is a BA in Biology, the 2nd degree achieved in 1996 is a BS in Secondary Education in Science. Both of the degrees were awarded from Indiana University Southeast (IUS), a branch of IU! My original intention in getting the biology degree was for a physical therapy degree, however, I realized the B and C grades I had overall were not going to allow my admission to PT school, even way "back in the day" when I was in college. Basically, my biology degree is a pre-med degree. I worked 6 years in a medical laboratory completing medical lab tests and phlebotomy. After getting my Secondary Education Degree, I worked at a private high school where I taught 6 preps out of 7 periods/classes. I taught Biology I and II, Chemistry I, Earth Space Science, 7th grade Science, and Physics. I taught 1 semester of Biology I and II at a public high school, and later covered a 6 week maternity leave teaching Biology II and II, and Chemistry. I have extensive substitute teaching experience at all grades. Since 2006, I have worked as a Case Manager supporting persons with Developmental and/or Intellectual Disabilities to be as independent as possible in the public community and their homes. I want to help make learning fun and enjoyable. Science can be a cool learning experience and I hope to help you or your student be able to find the fun in science and see how it can pertain to our everyday lives.

Connect with a tutor like LaVada

LaVada’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Indiana University-Southeast - Bachelor of Science, Biology, General

Hobbies

My family is of utmost importance to me. Any events they are involved in are something I want to be involved in. I enjoy cooking and baking. I love horses and riding but have to be careful because I suffer from high heat sensitivity. I am a cat person, but like dogs too. I grew up on a farm and enjoy farming crops, animals, and farming equipment. I like to read mysteries and fiction. I enjoy some social media sites.

Tutoring Subjects

Biology

High School Biology

Life Sciences

Middle School Science

Science

Connect with a tutor like LaVada