A photo of Chelsea, a tutor from University of Florida

Chelsea

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hi! I am interested in providing tutoring services for students in Grades 3-12, and at the college level in the areas of reading, writing, English language arts, Social Studies, AP courses, study skills/organization, and ACT/SAT preparations. I have lived in Atlanta for the past three years and currently serve as an Academic Program Specialist for Fulton County Schools. In this role, I support ten schools with K-12 curriculum and instructional needs. This work includes developing curriculum, providing professional development to teachers, coaching teachers and modeling best practices in literacy, and administering reading assessments to determine the appropriate interventions for readers. I will also be graduating this May with my Masters in Literacy Education with a Reading Specialist Certification from Georgia State University with an overall GPA of a 4.2.

Before moving to Atlanta, I worked as a high school English teacher in Charlotte, NC. In this role, I taught Grades 9-12 English, as well as AP English Language and AP English Literature. I received proficient marks on all teacher evaluations, while my students demonstrated high growth on standardized assessments. During this time, I also coordinated our school's ACT preparation program and led a Saturday ACT program for students.

Regarding my own educational experiences, I attended public high school in Miami, Florida, where I graduated in the top 10 of my class. In high school, I took multiple AP courses across various content areas and received a score of a five on all but one exam. I then attended the University of Florida, where I double majored in Criminology and Jewish Studies and minored in Women's Studies. I received an overall major GPA of a 4.0.

On a personal note, I genuinely enjoy working with students of all ages and appreciate the opportunity to be part of a student's journey towards achieving their full potential. I believe all students, with the appropriate support and resources, can be successful. Thank you for your time and consideration of allowing me to tutor for your family.

Chelsea’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Florida - Bachelor in Arts, Criminology

Graduate Degree: Georgia State University - Masters in Education, Reading Teacher Education

Hobbies

Reading, Yoga, Running, Attending concerts

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Writing

Adult Literacy

American Literature

College Application Essays

College English

College Level American Literature

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

Essay Editing

Graduate Test Prep

GRE Analytical Writing

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

PARCC Prep

Public Speaking

Test Prep

Writing