A photo of Tom, a tutor from University of Maryland-Baltimore County

Tom

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

As a graduate from University of Maryland, Baltimore County with a degree in pure Math, I have enjoyed tutoring students for the past six months. I love to help students achieve their goals for the math sections on placement tests (such as the SAT, ACT, or GRE), and I also provide academic support if students need help in their coursework. My favorite math topic to tutor is Algebra 2 because I often see that students lose confidence at this stage; but once they regain their confidence, they see math in a whole new light.

When I was in college, I really struggled through the math classes I took; I always felt like I was in over my head. Since I've graduated, though, I've enjoyed studying some of the topics I learned in college, so I've grown more and more comfortable with math. I believe my struggle with math equipped me to be a good tutor because I can empathize with students who just don't get it. Sometimes, math is really hard and you just need help and time to understand it! My philosophy is that students can generally figure out the necessary steps with just a little guidance, so I just ask pointed questions. Of course, I'll explain a concept if you really have no clue, but I find that students often just need someone to ask them the right questions.

I'm not a person who naturally loves math; I've had to really work to gain an understanding of it because it doesn't always come naturally to me. I typically work better in liberal arts classes, but I really wanted to challenge myself in college. And I sure got a challenge. Outside of academics, I like to play Ultimate Frisbee, play with my cats (Toulouse and Marie), go hiking, play video and board games, and just hang out with friends.

Tom’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland-Baltimore County - Bachelor of Science, Mathematics

Hobbies

Video games, ultimate frisbee, campfires, hiking, parkour, pokemon, math (I guess), and photography