A photo of Elizabeth, a tutor from University of Miami

Elizabeth

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My studies are in English Literature and Political Science, with minors in Psychology, Portuguese and Spanish. I have thus completed several semesters of upper-level coursework in English and the social sciences, and have a firm understanding of literature and language topics. I have a fair amount of experience in peer editing, and have worked as a content writer and columnist. Any issues with reading or writing are sure to be resolved with challenging, but rewarding lessons.

In my own academic pursuits I have developed a strong passion for learning while cultivating the techniques and study habits necessary for achieving success. I aspire to instill the same excitement towards learning that I have in others, and help students discover their unique passions, abilities, and interests. With years of teaching and mentoring experience, I am fully equipped to work with students of all ages, skill levels, and backgrounds.

I have several months of experience as a teaching clinician at a local learning center. In my experience in this position, I have worked with students of all ages (4 yrs.- adult), and of all learning abilities to strengthen language perception and reading comprehension. I have a great deal of experience working with students ranging from mild to severe on the autism spectrum, as well as students with auditory processing disorder, oppositional defiant disorder, dyslexia, attention deficit disorder, and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder. I fully appreciate every child's unique learning style, and constantly work to ensure that each of my students receives the specialized instruction they need to thrive.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Elizabeth’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Miami - Bachelor in Arts, English

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 2020

SAT Math: 700

SAT Verbal: 680

SAT Writing: 640

Hobbies

Reading, writing, gardening, studying foreign languages, keeping up with current events, caring for my 2 yr. old rescue Pit Bull and 1 yr. old kitten

Tutoring Subjects

ACT English

ACT Reading

Adult ESL/ELL

Adult Literacy

American Literature

AP Comparative Government and Politics

AP U.S. Government & Politics

Clinical Psychology

College Application Essays

College English

College Level American Literature

College Political Science

Elementary School

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

FCAT 2.0 Prep

GED Prep

GED Reasoning Through Language Arts

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Political Science

High School World History

High School Writing

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Phonics

Political Science

PSAT Critical Reading

PSAT Writing Skills

Psychology

Public Speaking

SAT Writing and Language

Social Sciences

Social studies

Test Prep

World History

Writing