A photo of Brian, a tutor from Pepperdine University

Brian

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I find tutoring and teaching to be an enriching experience for everyone involved.

I have worked in various roles in education, from tutor to para to classroom lead, for nearly a decade. This includes my time teaching in Korea and Japan; but also at home with Denver Public Schools.

I consider myself fortunate to have worked in educator with students of various backgrounds from kindergarten to senior citizens, internationally and at home, in Spanish and ESL but also Math and STEM. I have benefitted from tutors in my own educational career as well. I look forward to the opportunity to provide personalized learning.

Currently I am pursuing a BS degree in Physics, with minors in Chemistry and Mathematics, at CU Denver. I am approximately a Junior/Senior in academic status. My experiences so far with CU include: chaos and wave theory, lasers and high voltage plasma generation, superconductors and temperatures colder than space itself… I think these are what people seek rather than trains of certain velocities leaving at certain times when thinking of physics. I hope to be able to help share some deep understanding that come from a STEM education.

My previous BA degree was in International Studies and Spanish from Pepperdine University in California. During these years I was able to live and study in Hong Kong as well as Buenos Aires, this is where I finally became fluent in Spanish after years of study in high school. Between then and now, I lived Korea, Japan, and traveled across S. America. I have taught Spanish Advanced Literature as well as Beginner’s Introduction. I worked as a paraprofessional and classroom lead teacher with DPS, before continuing as a substitute teacher now that I am in college again myself.

Thank you for considering me as your tutor. I hope it’s the right opportunity to share understanding, skills, and the specific content of fields including Spanish, ESL, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and more.

Brian’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Pepperdine University - Bachelor in Arts, International Relations

Undergraduate Degree: CU Denver - Undergraduate - Bachelor of Science, Applied Physics

Hobbies

My hobbies include playing Lacrosse and Soccer, also I play the drum set. I have two great cats, Phineas and Felix. I’m a little bit of a gamer. I also enjoy metal work, including fine metals jewelry but also steel/aluminum/bronze sculptures and welding.

Tutoring Subjects

Adult ESL/ELL

Adult Literacy

Algebra

Art

ASVAB Prep

Calculus

College Physics

Competition Math

Drum

English

ESL/ELL

GED Prep

GED Math

GED Reasoning Through Language Arts

GED Science

GED Social Studies

High School Physics

IB Extended Essay

IB Further Mathematics

IB Mathematical Studies

IB Mathematics

IB Physics

IB Visual Arts

Languages

Math

MATLAB

Middle School Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Percussion

Phonics

Physics

Pre-Algebra

Science

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Technology and Computer Science

Test Prep

Writing