A photo of Nina, a tutor from University of California-Irvine

Nina

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a retired teacher with over 30 years experience teaching language arts, and other subjects, at the middle school and high school level. I earned my M.A. in Education from U.C. Berkeley, and hold current California State Teaching Credentials in English, Special Education, and Reading Specialist. I loved teaching and am looking forward to continuing teaching, in a more individualized way in the context of a 1:1 tutoring experience. I believe my strengths are my expertise in the subject area, especially reading and writing, combined with my ability to adapt to meet the needs of each learner, to establish positive relationships with students, and to include fun and a sense of humor as part of the learning process. I enjoy learning new things, even at my age, and am often able to communicate my enthusiasm for reading and learning to my students. My personal interests include reading (of course), knitting, hiking, whitewater rafting and canoeing (I was a commercial raft guide in my youth), listening to music, learning to play the Ukelele, and playing with my puppy. I also enjoy learning about current trends in popular culture from my students.

Nina’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of California-Irvine - Bachelor in Arts, Social Sciences

Graduate Degree: University of California-Berkeley - Masters in Education, Education

Hobbies

I love reading, knitting, and listening to lots of different music styles. I love outdoor nature recreation such as hiking and camping. My favorite activity is whitewater boating - I have my own canoe and raft that I take on whitewater rivers. I have always had a dog. Right now I have a 1-year old puppy that I love to play with. I am learning to play the Ukelele.

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Writing

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Phonics

Writing