A photo of Nathan, a tutor from Brandeis University

Nathan

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a first-year psychology major at Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts. I grew up in San Jose, California. Academics were never a struggle for me, but I always found the lack of interactions between the students and teacher and reading out of a textbook to be tedious. I always enjoyed learning so much more when I worked with pairs or groups; I also learned better after helping others learn the material. In every class, I became “the teacher” because I spent more of my class time unofficially tutoring my classmates than working on my own work. Eventually, I started getting tutoring offers during my high school years. These offers came from my classmates, my mom (who is an elementary school teacher), and referrals from past students I worked with. During the summer after my freshman year of high school, I volunteered for a free program at my local library to tutor 1st through 8th grade students; the program was called Read, Write, Discover Inc. After having a great summer of helping two fourth graders improve their literacy skills, I interviewed and became the coordinator for that branch of the program. For the next two summers, I coordinated the program. Now as part of Varsity Tutors, I plan to take all of my skills in tutoring I have learned during high school and use them to help as many students as possible feel confident in their skills as students.

Nathan’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Brandeis University - Bachelor in Arts, Psychology

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 2210

SAT Math: 780

SAT Verbal: 720

SAT Writing: 710

Hobbies

Psychology, Boxing, Video Games, and Netflix

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

High School English

High School Writing

Math

Middle School Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Pre-Algebra

Psychology

Social Sciences

Trigonometry