A photo of T.G., a tutor from University of California-Berkeley

T.G.

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am currently an undergraduate at the University of California Berkeley and I intend to double major in Environmental Engineering Sciences and French. For 5 consecutive summers during high school I tutored 1st-3rd grade students in reading fluency and comprehension, and my tutoring experience stems all the way back to elementary school. In 8th grade I had my first tutoring experience and I got to run a classroom of K-7th grade students for one entire week. This experience changed my life and began my love of teaching/tutoring.
I tutor a wide range of subjects, from French to Math to English, and I am also certified to tutor many IB subjects as well, as I received the IB diploma. If I had to pick I think that I would have to say that my favorite subject to tutor is math! I love explaining concepts and really getting kids to see how different aspects connect to one another. Math really is a language and I love to help others learn it.
Education has helped me so much in life, and I firmly believe that everyone is entitled to a good education as it can greatly improve one's quality of life. I want to help my students see this also as education really can be the key to great success.
In my spare time I love to read fiction books, watch Netflix, golf with my dad and hang out with close friends.

T.G.’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of California-Berkeley - Current Undergrad, French/Environmental Engineering Sciences

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 32

ACT English: 31

ACT Reading: 35

ACT Science: 32

SAT Verbal: 710

SAT Writing: 730

Hobbies

Reading and Golfing. I was also a pole vaulter in high school.

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Calculus

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Science

English

French

French 1

French 2

Geometry

IB Extended Essay

IB Mathematics

IB Psychology

Languages

Math

Pre-Algebra

Pre-Calculus

Trigonometry


Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

My teaching philosophy is helping students to help themselves. In other words, teaching deep understanding of the material so that when I am not around, they retain the information.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In a typical first session with a student, I would first get to know them a bit and look over what they are studying to get a more firm grasp of the areas in which they are struggling. Then, I would help them with any pressing questions and help them set up a study schedule with any time left over.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

duplicate