A photo of Aline, a tutor from Washington University in St Louis

Aline

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated in May 2017 from Washington University in St. Louis with a Bachelor of Arts in Biology and a minor in Anthropology. I am taking this year to work as a medical scribe in a Family Practice clinic and will be attending medical school in Fall 2018. I have previous experience as a teaching assistant for Introduction to Psychology as well as three years of research experience in a Psychology lab, where I studied the effects of genes and the environment on mental illness and behavior. I have a wide range of tutoring experience in subjects such as the GRE, Psychology, Algebra and college-level chemistry. I have also tutored elementary school children as they work to finish homework in a variety of subjects. I thoroughly enjoy editing essays and papers of multiple genres and have a long history of doing so. I like to teach by first gaining an understanding of how students approach a concept or question, and then moving forward together by addressing where a difference in understanding may lie.

Aline’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Washington University in St Louis - Current Undergrad, Biology, General

Test Scores

MCAT: 31

Hobbies

Field hockey, running, hiking, cooking, reading (especially non-fiction)

Tutoring Subjects

Adult Literacy

Algebra

Algebra 2

Anthropology

AP Biology

AP Psychology

Biology

Chemistry

College Application Essays

College Biology

College Chemistry

College English

Creative Writing

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

Fiction Writing

GED Prep

GED Math

Graduate Test Prep

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

High School English

High School Writing

Languages

Math

MCAT Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior

Medical Ethics

Medicine

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Science

Middle School Writing

Neuroscience

Organic Chemistry

Other

Pre-Algebra

MCAT Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior

Psychology

Public Speaking

SAT Reading

SAT Subject Test in Chemistry

SAT Subject Tests Prep

SAT Writing and Language

Science

Social Sciences

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Test Prep

Writing


Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

Every student learns in a unique way and starts from a different place. I aim to find out what both of those are for every person and work with students to accomplish their learning goals.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I would introduce myself and start to get to know the student. I would ask them what brought them to tutoring and what they hope to get out of it.

What techniques would you use to be sure that a student understands the material?

I would have the student explain the material back to me in their own words or way, and correct any misunderstanding that comes up. This would be an ongoing process until I am confident that the student understands the material.

How do you build a student's confidence in a subject?

I would positively encourage them when they get something correct or are thinking about a problem in a good way. I would make sure that they do not disparage themselves for taking longer than they want on a problem or concept. Every student learns at a different rate, and I am happy to work with individuals to help them reach their goals.

How do you evaluate a student's needs?

I ask them what their current understanding of a concept or method of solving a problem is. I will also talk with the student to gain a larger understanding of their needs than what I would gain from looking at their responses to individual problems.

What types of materials do you typically use during a tutoring session?

I typically use the materials provided by the student, as well as any other relevant materials in my possession.