Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt


Teaching comes naturally to me and I have had experience teaching since college. I started tutoring in college and then continued working and teaching kids in K-8th grades since. In college I tutored elementary students in Detroit, Michigan in reading and math. After college I tutored students for the ACT and SAT. Then, for the past 8 years I've worked with students in grades K-8 as a teacher in Chicago Public Schools. I moved to Chicago to teach students in high needs areas in order to close the achievement gap in education and help make opportunities available for kids from all backgrounds. I double majored in English and Political Science at the University of Michigan for my undergraduate degree and continued to get my Masters of Teaching at National Louis University. Additionally I have an endorsement in teaching students with learning disabilities.
My teaching philosophy is that if you believe in yourself, practice, and work at your level in any subject area you will make improvements. I follow the I do, we do, you do method of teaching where I model the concept or strategy first, then we try some problems or questions together, then I have the student work independently. I think it's important to see a model first before trying it on your own. I believe in listening to the students needs and figuring out what kind of learner they are, visual, kinesthetic, audio. I also believe in goal setting and creating benchmarks to reach on the way to achieving your goal. My behavior management system includes rules and consequences that I like to develop with the students.
Over the past 8 years, most of my tutoring has been in reading and math for grades 3-8. However, I have tutored for the ACT and SAT and every year I do test prep with my students to prepare for PARCC and MAP. I can also tutor for the ISEE. I enjoy teaching reading and math the most though. Other interests of mine include yoga, running, swimming, reading, and shopping. I also love to play with my puppy.

Undergraduate Degree:

University of Michigan - Bachelors, English and Political Science

Graduate Degree:

National Louis University - Masters, Education

Yoga, running, playing with my dog, shopping.

College English

Elementary School Math

High School English

Homework Support

MAP Prep



Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization