A photo of Julia, a tutor from Tufts University

Julia

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am an undergraduate student at Tufts University. I am double-majoring in English and Spanish with a focus on pre-law. I have been tutoring children from elementary school to high school for several years, and in college I am involved in Tufts Literacy Corps, where I work with children with special needs such as ADHD. My primary focuses are ACT preparation and English/Writing, but I can and have helped students with a variety of other subjects. I love helping younger students see and accomplish their potential, even when they do not think it is possible.
I believe in a personalized approach to tutoring; each child works, thinks, and sees the world differently, and it is my job to figure out what that perspective is. The same ideas and concepts will not benefit every child, so I make sure to focus on what specifically will make things easier to understand for each individual. I also see tutoring as building a bond with someone older than you are who sees all the ways you can succeed with a little guidance and encouragement. A tutor is someone to look up to, and that is what I aspire to be for every child. Tutoring is about learning, but there is also a major aspect of building confidence - when someone does not believe they can accomplish something, that task gets infinitely more challenging. There is also an aspect of fun, something that makes you want to learn. My ultimate goal is for each child to come out of each session, each day, wanting to learn more.

Julia’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Tufts University - Current Undergrad, English and Spanish

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 36

ACT English: 36

ACT Math: 33

ACT Reading: 34

ACT Science: 36

SAT Composite: 2150

SAT Math: 700

SAT Verbal: 700

SAT Writing: 750

AP Calculus AB: 4

AP English Literature: 5

AP Computer Science A: 4

AP Spanish Literature: 4

Hobbies

Ballroom dancing, writing poetry, literature, music, skiing

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Prep

ACT English

ACT Math

ACT Reading

ACT Science

ACT Writing

Adult ESL/ELL

Adult Literacy

Algebra

Conversational Spanish

Creative Writing

English Grammar and Syntax

Homework Support

Math

Other

Reading

SAT Prep

SAT Math

SAT Mathematics

SAT Reading

SAT Writing and Language

Social Sciences

Sociology

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Summer

Test Prep

Writing