1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Shakera

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Shakera, a tutor from North Carolina A & T State University


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a professional tutor in every aspect of the word. I have been tutoring for over ten years. My tutoring experience dates very far back. I have a brother who is less than a year younger than me. When I first started school in pre-kindergarten, my mother and grandfather said that I would educate my baby brother on the lessons I learned in school. My brother’s intellect allowed him to skip the first day. My brother also had the intellect to skip the seventh grade but my mother wanted my brother to enjoy being his age.

When I entered high school, my mother made sure to enroll my brother and myself into all honors and advanced placement courses so we could be properly challenged. The rigor of challenging classes fostered an environment of learning and growth. It taught me how to critically look at problems, assess what the problem asked, and follow a set of steps to bring me to the answer. I would work jointly with my classmates, learning their techniques and enlightening them on my understanding. I soon gained a love for helping others understand concepts.

My love for tutoring did not end there. My high school started a leadership program that allowed upperclassmen to tutor and mentor underclassmen. I graduated a semester early from high school. I decided that I did not want to wait to start college. As a native of Markham, IL, a suburb of Chicago, attending college almost 800 miles from home in North Carolina was scary. Graduating high school with a 3.94 GPA could not have prepared me for my worse semester in my academic career. My GPA at the end of my first semester was a 1.94. Being told that I was on academic probation by the University and that I may not be able to return to school for the next semester motivated me.

I retook one of the classes that strongly impacted my GPA, Calculus, at a community college in Chicago. The professor of the course found me so knowledgeable on the concepts from my first experience that I was asked to assist my fellow classmates, also using my tests and quizzes as a basis to grade the rest of the class. After making an A in the course, I was able to return to North Carolina A&T for the next semester, only to hear that I can’t override a grade from a class I took on campus at another university. I was forced to take Calculus a third time. Having covered the material twice, I was soon educating other students on how I grasped the concepts. This mindset followed me through countless college level courses.
I was soon tutoring people of all ages and education levels. My work study afforded me the opportunity to work as a daytime tutor for fifth graders and a daytime/ on call/ after school tutor for a high school. I now work as a professional tutor for college students in all levels of Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, English, Statistics, and engineering courses. I love taking a concept that a student does not understand and bridging the gap. Bridging the gap is building a relationship with a student and explaining the information in a way that appeals to the student.

I like to ensure that my students thoroughly understand the concept before moving on. I am very flexible with my schedule. I tend to work overtime on most days because my students believe I make understanding concepts easier than sitting in a classroom. I am very dedicated, hardworking, and determined. I am open to any days and time that I am needed. As a resident of North Carolina, I am willing to relocate. I truly appreciate any consideration. Thank you.

Connect with a tutor like Shakera

Shakera’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: North Carolina A & T State University - Bachelors, Chemical Engineering

Graduate Degree: Salem International University - Masters, MBA in Engineering Management


My interests are in books, movies, music, and arts and crafts. My hobbies are making my own skin and hair products, knitting, crocheting, and video games.

Tutoring Subjects

Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

I believe that teaching may be on a teacher’s level, but understanding is on the student’s level. Every student learns differently

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I like to get to know the student's interests, expectations, goals, and skill set.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

Helping a student become an independent learner means teaching them how to critically think about concepts, and ways to double check their work to increase confidence.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

I help a student stay motivated through encouragement and some of my personal experiences.

Connect with a tutor like Shakera