A photo of Leigh, a tutor from Cornell University

Leigh

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Currently a PhD. student at the University of Michigan in Comparative Literature, I have a great deal of experience in teaching and tutoring. As a grad student, I have taught 5 semesters of first-year writing courses, as well as 1 semester of advanced French. This means I know first-hand what challenges incoming college students face, and what they can do before college to prepare. I am a fluent French-speaker, and have spent a good deal of time in France and other Francophone countries. I spent an academic year in France working at a public high school, where I both taught English to whole classes, but also tutored individual and small groups of students as they prepared for their Baccalaureate exam. In 2008, I received a TOEFL certificate in Seville, Spain to teach English to speakers of other languages. I received my Bachelor's degree from Cornell University in 2011, majoring in Near Eastern Studies (I also speak Persian (Farsi)) and minoring in French. I can tutor Reading, Writing, French, or ESL, and am excited about helping students advance towards their college experience, whether that means preparing for SAT's, ACT's, or other test prep, or working on their regular classroom material.

When I'm not teaching, tutoring, or doing research, I can usually be found doing yoga or baking. I would also happily spend my day reading with my cat curled up on my lap.

Leigh’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Cornell University - Bachelors, Near Eastern Studies, French Studies

Graduate Degree: University of Michigan-Ann Arbor - PHD, Comparative Literature

Test Scores

SAT Writing: 760

SAT Mathematics Level 2: 740

SAT Subject Test in French with Listening: 800

SAT Subject Test in Biology E/M: 710

Hobbies

Baking, yoga, swimming, reading

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Writing

Advanced Placement Prep

AP French

AP French Language and Culture

College English

College Essays

Comparative Literature

Conversational French

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

French

French 1

French 2

French 3

French 4

High School English

IB Literature and Performance

Languages

Literature

Reading

REGENTS Prep

SAT Reading

SAT Subject Test in French

SAT Subject Test in French with Listening

SAT Subject Tests Prep

SAT Writing and Language

Test Prep

TOEFL Prep

Writing