A photo of Jessica, a tutor from Oral Roberts University

Jessica

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of Oral Roberts University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology. Throughout my college, I often assisted my peers in the subject areas of Mathematics and various sciences including Biology, Chemistry, and Physics.
Currently I work with an Upward Bound program tutoring students who come from a lower income and underserved community. Many will be the first in their family to go to college and I am excited to help them get there! I am also enamored with the Spanish language and I continue to learn and study more in order to teach better and work towards fluency.

My teaching style is strict yet informal. I want to help my clients to learn and understand the material and not just give them the answer. I like to work with them to help them to understand concepts and steps to determining an answer and then give extra practice to see if they have truly come to understand the concept and the material for themselves. I always give constructive criticism and bring a positive and joyful attitude.

My goal is to remove the phrases "I can't", "I don't know", and "I'll never get it" from my clients' vocabulary. These phrases don't fly with me. "I can" and "we can together" are my goals and my philosophy. I look forward to each person I have the pleasure to work with and I know that together we can and we will be more successful in school and in life!

Jessica’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Oral Roberts University - Bachelors, Biology, General

Hobbies

Violinist

Tutoring Subjects


Q & A

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

My typical first session includes getting to know the student as a person and introducing myself and our goals for the session. Afterwards, I want to know what he/she feels makes him/her exceed in other courses. Next, I would assess the student's understandings and misunderstandings and see how he/she learns best.