A photo of Tracy, a tutor from University of Southern California


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Occupational Therapy from the University of Southern California. My background is in the evaluation and treatment of children with physical and cognitive disabilities. I worked with school-aged children in the classroom and in a private clinical setting either one-on-one or in groups. I worked cooperatively with parents, teachers, speech therapists, physical therapists, physicians and school nurses to provide quality care for each child. The focus of my work was improving the quality of life for the children I treated.

Currently, I am working toward completing a certificate in Teaching English as a Second Language through the extension program at the University of California, Irvine.

Tutoring is a second career opportunity for me and I look forward to helping students meet their educational and learning goals. I am available to tutor students in English Language Learning, reading, study and organizational skills , English and Homework help. I will work with Special Ed/needs students and their families reach their IEP goals. I am comfortable working with both adults and children.

I call my teaching style "the whatever works method." Each student has different needs, learning styles and goals. I will tailor my lesson plans to lower anxiety and increase confidence to promote independent learning. I will vary tasks, contexts, resources and styles based on each students learning abilities and educational experience. The students will take an active role in the learning/teaching process.

I view this new career as a learning opportunity. I enjoy meeting new people from various walks of life and learning about their background and culture. This gives me perspective about how their life experiences have shaped them.

In my spare time, I enjoy reading, cooking, baking, hiking, biking, and spending time with family and friends. I also enjoy watching baseball and footfall games. I am more Briun than Trojan (depending how the teams are playing). I am a proud spoiled Southern California "girl" and enjoy spending time at the beach just watching the ocean, snorkeling and paddleboarding. I also love to travel and my favorite place to go is Maui. Yes, another beach but I also enjoy the laid back Hawaiian lifestyle. Everyone needs to hang loose and relax once in a while.

Tracy’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Southern California - Bachelors, Occupational Therapy


reading, hiking, biking, cooking, baking

Tutoring Subjects

College English



High School English

Homework Support



Special Education

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

My teaching philosophy is "whatever works." Each student has different learning styles, needs and motivation for learning. I like to design lesson plans based on what works best for individual students. I choose activities and tasks that will engage the student and promote building their confidence.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

The first session with a student would be a "get to know each other" session. I want to know who I am teaching, what their educational level/experience is, what the learning goals are, what the student wants/expects from me, their role in the family, etc. I want the student to know who I am, what I can do for them, how I can enhance their learning, etc. I would also do an informal assessment of the specific subject area/English language skills of the student. With the student/family, I would formulate a learning plan.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

I can provide the student with organizational and study skills to improve confidence and decrease anxiety.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

In order to stay motivated, learning/educational goals need to be attainable. I would set up activities that promote learning and improve success. I would assess the effectiveness of the lesson plans and adapt activities to make sure the student remains engaged. The student would be a partner in the tutoring process.

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

I would need to figure out the root of the problem and break down the concept or skill into its basic levels. I would use whatever methods or modalities the students responds to in order to break through whatever the difficulty is.