A photo of Emily, a tutor from University of Missouri-Columbia


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have a Bachelor's degree in French and Anthropology, with a minor in Spanish from the University of Missouri-Columbia. I love foreign languages and have taken two semesters of university level Russian, as well as having basic knowledge of Romanian. I studied abroad in Lyon, France for 6 months and have spent a month in Dresden, Germany. I have 5 years of experience tutoring French, Spanish and Anthropology with The Learning Center at The University of Missouri-Columbia and have taught a community beginner French course focusing on vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, basic conversation, how to act in France and basic ins-and-outs of French culture. I strive to help others learn a language or master an Anthropology course in a way that best fits their learning individual learning styles.

Learning a language is fun and doesn't have to be intimidating! You will make mistakes when you learn a new language-trust me, I made my own share of those while living in France-but correcting those mistakes is how you learn and prepare for tests. It's just part of the process. If you continue to put the effort forth, you WILL get better and better, until one day even finding that you speak a different language with fluency and ease!

Outside of academic interests, I regularly hike outdoors in the mountains and listen to progressive metal, as well many other musical genres. I play the drums, and recently I've started learning guitar. I enjoy a good sense of humor, meeting new people and hearing their different perspectives.

Emily’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Missouri-Columbia - Bachelors, French, Anthropoloy, Spanish Minor


Listening to progressive metal and music in general (I enjoy many genres), playing drums, hiking in the mountains, meeting new people, learning about different languages, cultures and perspectives. I have just started learning guitar!

Tutoring Subjects


AP French

AP French Language and Culture

Conversational French

Conversational Spanish


French 1

French 2

French 3

French 4



Social Sciences


Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

I strive to generate student interest in the material being learned. Different people have different learning styles, and I will ask you right away what methods (if you know of them) work best for you. If you don't know, we can try out different things. I want to know what your goals are and work at your pace.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I will start by asking you questions about your course, how you are doing in it, and what you are specifically struggling with. I will ask you what your goals are and if you can tell me anything about the best way you've found you learn things. I will answer any questions you already have about your subject, and we will move from there! I enjoy getting to know my students and try to make it fun.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

I first figure out what specific aspects of a course are giving a student trouble. I will help the student make a strategy to get more out of class and study their weakest areas.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

Learning a language or expanding your knowledge should be fun. I talk about the fun I've had in other countries because I knew the language, or the interesting people I've known only through that language. Learning about another culture is a great way to expand your perspective.

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

We keep practicing! If one method of explaining didn't work, I try another. I have never had a point with a student where they just couldn't get it. We always find a way!

How do you help students who are struggling with reading comprehension?

We practice reading through texts together. I give the students tips on how to overcome the problems they are having. If the problem is vocabulary, I explain to them how to understand the main points of a text without knowing all of the vocabulary. If the problem is finding ideas or analyzing the text, I explain how to find these things, and we keep practicing.