A photo of Jason, a tutor from University of Colorado- Boulder

Jason

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I attended the University of Colorado- Boulder where I majored in Sociology and Geography. After receiving my Bachelors degree, I worked at a summer camp as a Therapeutic Recreational Instructor for the non-profit Imagine: Out and About. This day camp provided children with disabilities the opportunity to explore and play in the community. Our daily activities ranged from going swimming, attending plays, and visiting the Denver Zoo.

After the summer camp was over, I headed to Seoul, South Korea, where I taught conversational English for over two years! We mostly worked with kindergarten and elementary students, but occasionally we taught younger (pre-school) and older (middle school) students as well. We helped students learn and improve necessary language skills such as reading, writing, speaking, listening, grammar, and vocabulary. We worked with students who were literally just learning the basics of English, to students who were very advanced. Regardless of their ability, we were always able to push students to challenge themselves and their learning.

While In South Korea, I was made aware of the injustice of human trafficking through conferences such as the Not For Sale conference. This inspired me to travel to Cambodia, where I saw the impacts of modern day slavery in ways I had only read about. Shortly thereafter, I headed back to the United States, where I enrolled in Denver Seminary. After going to school full time for 2 and a half years, I recently received my Masters of Arts in Justice and Mission. While going to Denver Seminary, I was also a tutor with AVID at Sky Vista Middle School, as well as a private tutor.

For my free time, I like to go exploring in the Mountains. I enjoy hiking, mountain biking, and camping. I am also an active baker (this was the result of my mother going off to receive her Masters Degree in Special Education, and I sadly had no one to bake any cookies for me anymore).

Jason’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Colorado- Boulder - Bachelor in Arts, Sociology, Geography

Graduate Degree: Denver Seminary - Masters, Justice and Mission

Hobbies

Hiking, Camping, Reading, Baking,

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

History

College English

College Geography

College Level American History

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

Geography

High School English

High School Geography

High School Level American History

ISEE Prep

ISEE- Lower Level

ISEE- Middle Level

Math

Middle School Math

Pre-Algebra

Public Speaking

Social studies

SSAT Prep

SSAT- Elementary Level

SSAT- Middle Level

Test Prep

World Religions

Writing