1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Anne

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Anne, a tutor from Duke University

Anne

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My decade plus of experience tutoring began as a peer tutor at the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics and continued at Duke University where I got my Bachelor of Science in mathematics. After that I earned my Master of Arts in mathematics education at Ohio State University. For the last five years I have worked as a private tutor in Washington, DC, teaching all levels of high school math from algebra to calculus.

I specialize in high school math because students often begin having trouble with the broader range of concepts and vocabulary in algebra and precalculus, which is precisely when students can learn what will be most useful to them in everyday life, such as mathematical relationships and modeling.

My tutoring style is very student-led; I always want to connect to what students already know and help them build greater understanding of deep mathematical concepts as well as learning skills and processes. I love tutoring because the one-on-one interaction is the best way to catalyze students' problem-solving skills and truly engage with the conceptual underpinnings of mathematical endeavors.

Connect with a tutor like Anne

Anne’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Duke University - Bachelor of Science, Mathematics

Graduate Degree: Ohio State University - Master of Arts, Math Education

Hobbies

In my free time I practice yoga, volunteer at an animal shelter, and am starting my first garden.

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Math

Algebra

Algebra 2

Algebra 3/4

AP Calculus AB

AP Physics 2

Calculus

Chemistry

CLEP Prep

CLEP Calculus

CLEP College Algebra

CLEP College Mathematics

CLEP Precalculus

College Algebra

Competition Math

Discrete Math

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

GED Prep

GED Math

GED Science

Geometry

High School Chemistry

High School Physics

IB Mathematical Studies

IB Mathematics

IB Physics

College Math

Middle School Math

Physics

Pre-Algebra

Pre-Calculus

Probability

PSAT Mathematics

Science

Test Prep

Trigonometry


Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

My teaching philosophy is very student-centered and focused on helping students construct new understandings in ways that make sense to them.


Connect with a tutor like Anne