1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Marie

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Marie, a tutor from University of California-San Diego

Marie

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I received my education at the University of California, San Diego ranked second in the nation for undergraduate biological sciences. In less than three years, I completed my bachelor’s degree officially in Human Biology. However, I have a strong coursework background in biochemistry. I was considered part of Revelle College, known to be the first and most prestigious college among the six colleges at UCSD. It is a college that represents a student body that is well rounded and successful in both humanities and science. Currently, I am working towards either an ABSN or MSN degree in Nursing.

My tutoring experience is extensive across middle school and high school level. I have tutored all levels of middle school math up to Algebra 2/Pre-Algebra. Personally I have completed vector calculus, linear algebra, and differential equations, therefore I have a very strong concept of math and thoroughly enjoy teaching it. In my experience, the teacher has made the difference in understanding math. I like to think that I can be a difference too, and can help and explain mathematical topics in an easy and relatable way. For high school courses, I have tutored biology, AP Comparative Politics, AP Us History, AP Government, AP Psychology, AP Statistics, and Anatomy & Physiology. I have lots of material for these subjects and find it fun to teach this age group. I think these subjects are great to establish good work ethic and learning how to learn before entering university level courses or other future types of education. I have also tutored for writing at the high school level, and for the Revelle College Humanities Program at UCSD. I have not officially tutored German, but have experience in teaching German to fellow peers.

My preference for tutoring is middle school math, primarily because this is the fundamental level of math and it will be easier for students in the long run if they have success starting at this level. However, I thoroughly enjoy teaching high school level AP classes and have lots of material to offer to my students for those subjects as well. My major is in Human Bio/Biochemistry, so I am well versed in science courses. I am originally from Germany and am a native German speaker, so naturally I have lots of fun teaching this subject. I also have lots of handouts, workbooks, and textbooks for this subject to offer to my students.

As I previously stated, I am a firm believer in that the teacher or teaching style can make a difference. I have come across many brilliant professors, but being brilliant or an expert in a field is a totally separate quality from the ability to teach. As a result, often times my brilliant professors have failed to recognize the lack of background knowledge a student possesses and break down the material in a way that tends to the students’ current knowledge. I like to identify what the student does know, figure out what ways he/she learns best, and adjust my teaching style on the basis of those matters. Generally, the best approach has been to break things down to the simplest components and build from there. This method has made it easier for students to follow along and keeps them from getting discouraged. It also allows for ease of learning later on when topics become more advanced.

For personal interests outside academia, travel would be considered my biggest hobby. I have traveled to over thirty countries and really enjoy seeing different parts of the world and their cultures. For the most part my travels have been concentrated in Europe, but I have traveled to parts of Africa, South America, Asia, and Australia/New Zealand. I would also say the German language and German culture is something I take particular interest in, mainly because I am German and still retain my German citizenship. My knowledge of the German culture is something that I would definitely like to implement into a German lesson since I find it to be a useful aspect of learning a language. Other daily hobbies include cooking, baking, and playing piano. Living coastal, I have naturally become a great lover of the ocean.

Connect with a tutor like Marie

Marie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of California-San Diego - Bachelor of Science, Human Biology

Hobbies

Travel, Piano, Cooking, German

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Algebra 3/4

College Algebra

Conversational German

German

German 1

German 2

German 3

German 4

Languages

Math

Middle School Math

Other

Pre-Algebra

Pre-Calculus

Statistics

Summer


Connect with a tutor like Marie