Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt


I graduated from Occidental College where I majored in math and minored in Russian. My senior year I wrote a thesis using differential equations to model love affairs - most notably the relationships in Cyrano de Bergerac. I am a firm believer that applying math to fun and interesting situations makes it much easier to learn and much easier to remember. Since graduating I have had a few different jobs such as pastry cook, personal trainer, and data analyst.

My experiences tutoring started when I was in high school in my hometown of Ann Arbor, Michigan. I taught middle school musicians the stand-up bass, which I have been playing since I was 11. I love to play all kinds of music and was briefly in a bluegrass band. Playing instruments is still one of my favorite pastimes, and I am currently learning the ukulele. My teaching experience continued at Occidental College where I helped my classmates with math particularly Calculus (one my personal favorites). My junior year I studied abroad in St. Petersburg, Russia where I helped teach English at a local university.

In my free time I love to travel, hike, and camp. I recently returned from a solo trip on the trans-Siberian railway where I traveled across Russia, through Mongolia, dipped into China, then returned to Russia. I am always striving to learn more and since graduating I have taken an intensive Russian language course and am continuing my own education in the fall by pursuing a Master's degree.

Undergraduate Degree:

Occidental College - Bachelor in Arts, Mathematics

GRE Verbal: 163

Backpacking, camping, music, and learning new languages.