A photo of Catherine, a tutor from University of California- Davis

Catherine

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a University of California- Davis graduate and received my Bachelor of Arts in International Relations with a minor in Chinese. In the future I plan to attend law school where I hope to study Environmental Law, but I am also very passionate about teaching and tutoring. I have a broad range of tutoring experiences: from teaching math and statistics to high school students in Tanzania, tutoring international students in English at UC Davis, working at a preschool and kindergarten, and, of course, privately tutoring students (of all ages) in many different subjects. I have a passion for learning languages- I have studied Spanish since the 5th grade, minored in Mandarin Chinese at university, and have spent time learning French and German on my own- so I would have to say that my favorite subjects to tutor are Spanish and Mandarin. I also write essays very frequently and enjoy both formal and creative writing, so I love helping students improve their English abilities and helping students with writing and essay editing. I also tutor math (I excelled in math throughout high school and continued to take math courses in college) and thoroughly enjoy doing so! I also did well on the SAT and want to assist students in perfecting the SAT skills that they need so that they can further enhance their college prospects. I believe that every student can become passionate about learning and a successful student with the appropriate help, and I am very excited to provide that help to my students. I am enthusiastic and patient, and am very good at adapting to each student's personal needs and learning style. In my free time, I love to read history and I run and hike to stay healthy.

Catherine’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of California- Davis - Bachelor in Arts, International Relations, Chinese

Hobbies

Reading, running, learning languages,environmental science and policy, hiking, and exploring the outdoors

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Arithmetic

College Algebra

College English

Conversational Mandarin

Conversational Spanish

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

Essay Editing

High School English

Languages

Mandarin Chinese

Mandarin Chinese 1

Mandarin Chinese 2

Math

Middle School Math

Pre-Algebra

Reading

SAT Reading

SAT Writing and Language

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Study Skills and Organization

Test Prep

Trigonometry

Writing