A photo of Danbi, a tutor from Chapman University

Danbi

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I began my undergraduate career at Chapman University as a film school student and ended up graduating magna cum laude with BA degrees in English and Screenwriting with a term spent studying in England at the University of Oxford. After graduating, I moved to France, where I worked for almost two years as an au pair and taught ESL to three children ages 4-12. I have been tutoring since junior high school and am currently on a leave of absence from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where I teach College Writing to undergraduates while working towards a MA/PhD in English. As you may surmise, my strengths in tutoring and teaching are in English, reading, writing, and language arts, including such related sections of standardized tests. I especially enjoy one-on-one tutoring, as it affords the opportunity for personalized education; with this in mind, I try to tailor reading materials and my teaching style to suit the individual student. I have found through my years of experience that such an approach encourages the student to take a more personal interest in her/his academic work, thus fueling motivation. My interests/hobbies include traveling on a shoestring budget, reading, writing, watching movies, learning languages (I speak English, French, Korean, and a bit of Spanish), cooking (and eating), and fashion.

Danbi’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Chapman University - Bachelor in Arts, English and Screenwriting

Graduate Degree: University of Massachusetts Amherst - PHD, English

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 2190

SAT Math: 710

SAT Verbal: 740

SAT Writing: 740

GRE Verbal: 168

GRE Analytical Writing: 5

SAT Subject Test in Spanish with Listening: 720

Hobbies

Traveling, reading, cooking, watching movies, fashion