A photo of Elissa, a tutor from Arizona State Universiy

Elissa

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I grew up in Los Angeles and went to Cal-State Northridge for a year and a half. Then, I transferred over to Arizona State University where I earned a Bachelors degree in Secondary Education with a major in Biology. In 1992, I graduated from Northern Arizona University with a Masters degree in Secondary Education again majoring in Biology. I taught 8th and 9th grade science for 25 years. My early years of teaching were in 8th grade Life Science and 9th grade (Freshman) Biology. My later years of teaching were in 8th grade general science which includes units in genetics, ecology, physics and chemistry. As a teacher, I had an open door policy where my students can come in for tutoring morning or after school. I used a wide variety of teaching methods to engage my students in learning the content. Strategies that I used were graphic organizers, flash cards, modeling using toy cars (physics), practice quizzes, bingo, jeopardy, pictures and diagrams. My favorite subject to tutor is Genetics, because it deals with traits, a fascinating history of Gregor Mendel, and the fun involved with completing Punnett squares. My teaching philosophy is that students learn through a variety of teaching methods. Some students understand the material through traditional lecture and note taking. Other students need something hands on like labs or visual aides such as videos and drawings.
I have tremendous patience and will do whatever it takes to make sure the student understands the content.

In my spare time, I keep my mind alert by doing crossword puzzles, sketching faces of celebrities, reading horror stories, playing badminton and tennis. I coached Girls Frosh Tennis for several years. I played tennis and badminton in college. Out of the two, I prefer badminton. I love animals especially cats. I used to breed and show Persian cats. I also own a Boxer and some fish.

Elissa’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Arizona State Universiy - Bachelor in Arts, Biology, General

Graduate Degree: Northern Arizona University - Master of Arts, Biology, General

Hobbies

My interests and hobbies include tennis and badminton. I played tennis and badminton in college and even coached the girls Frosh tennis team for a few years. I also like to sketch faces of celebrities and do crossword puzzles to keep my mind alert.

Tutoring Subjects

8th Grade Science

Biology

College Biology

General Biology

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

Life Sciences

Middle School Science

Nutrition

Physical Science

Science