A photo of Andrea, a tutor from Lawrence University

Andrea

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I'm working towards a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and French. I started my schooling at a small liberal arts school in Wisconsin at Lawrence University and will finish at the University of Missouri-Kansas City (two Wisconsin winters was enough for me!). I've tutored students from Elementary School all the way up through to undergraduates in algebra, geometry, reading, writing and French. My favorite to teach is reading, because it's a door to so many other cool things (like Sherlock Holmes stories!).
I think all good tutoring experiences are built on a trusting, respectful relationship, so I really try to get to know my students. Tutoring is more fun for everyone involved if we can bring in some of our interests: one thing I learned from a former student is that ice skating can be a great way to teach angles.
Beyond teaching I like reading mystery novels (as you probably gathered from the Sherlock Holmes reference), playing tennis, and listening to music. I play the violin and have been trying to break out of the classical music world by learning some bluegrass and fiddle tunes, which has been a blast.

Andrea’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Lawrence University - Bachelor in Arts, English

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 33

ACT English: 35

ACT Math: 32

ACT Reading: 36

ACT Science: 30

Hobbies

Playing tennis, reading mystery novels, playing the violin

Tutoring Subjects

ACT English

ACT Reading

ACT Science

ACT Writing

Biology

College Biology

College English

College Essays

Comparative Literature

Conversational French

English

Essay Editing

French

French 1

French 2

French 3

French 4

High School Biology

High School English

HSPT Prep

IB BIology

IB Biology HL

IB Biology SL

IB Extended Essay

IB Language A: Literature

IB Language A: Literature HL

IB Language B

IB Language B HL

IB Language B SL

ISEE Prep

ISEE- Lower Level

Languages

Literature

Reading

Science

SSAT Prep

SSAT- Elementary Level

Test Prep

Writing