A photo of Devon, a tutor from University of California-Santa Barbara

Devon

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a recent graduate from University of California, Santa Barbara. I double majored in Mathematical Sciences and Philosophy. I have tutored subjects from Pre-Algebra through Calculus to students from the ages of 10 to those well into their 20's.

I am an experienced and competent tutor, and I did very well in my major. During high school I struggled quite a bit with math, so I know where my students are coming from when they get stuck. I completely understand how frustrating math can be. I myself had a tutor for high school Calculus, and it wasn't until college that the subject really started clicking for me. Part of what makes me a good tutor is precisely because math didn't always come easily to me, so I have a keen understanding of the ways that you can get hung up.

I try to put an emphasis on conceptual understanding of the material, rather than just teaching the steps through rote memorization, because I find that a conceptual understanding leads to less work and a faster comprehension of newer material. I also like to assign a few problems in areas that may need a bit more work, so we can go over them during the next session. By assigning around 15 minutes of work, I find that it's a good way to keep students thinking about the material in between sessions.

Thank you for your interest in me as a tutor!

Devon’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of California-Santa Barbara - Bachelor in Arts, Mathematical Sciences

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 2130

SAT Math: 750

SAT Verbal: 700

SAT Writing: 700

Hobbies

Reading, skiing, movies, music, my new puppy