A photo of Joe, a tutor from Texas A&M University at Galveston


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I received my Bachelors of Science from Texas A&M University at Galveston in 2010. I studied marine biology and also received a minor in chemistry during my undergraduate education. In the Fall of 2011 I started my Masters degree at California State University, Long Beach. My Masters degree was thesis based and for my work I studied population genetics; specifically, looking at the population genetics of flatfish species along the West Coast.

During my undergraduate degree, I worked as a tutor for my last year and a half at the campus tutoring center. During this time, I mainly focused on teaching chemistry and biology, tutoring students individually and in groups. During my graduate degree I continued teaching; however, I worked as a Teaching Associate for two and a half years. I taught a sophomore level Introduction to Cell Biology lab, which generally consisted of around 28 students. For the lab, I would generally give a 15 to 20 minute lecture, explaining the background and procedure of the day's experiment. And then I would oversee the lab, helping the students when they had issues or questions. The job also required that I held office hours every week where I could help students one on one and answer their questions.

Overall, I really enjoy teaching students, mainly in Biology and Chemistry. I find it very rewarding to help students one on one and see them improve and learn. The main way I teach students is to break down the subject they are struggling with; explain the basic concepts of the subject and then build on it, not just giving the students the answer, but asking them questions, helping guide them to the right answer.

Outside of academics, I enjoy a variety of things. I enjoy travelling, going to the beach, going to movies, and baseball games. And, even though I haven't done so recently, I really enjoy scuba diving. During my undergraduate degree I took several classes that taught me to dive, which I really enjoyed.

Joe’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Texas A&M University at Galveston - Bachelor of Science, Marine Biology, Chemistry Minor

Graduate Degree: California State University-Long Beach - Master of Science, Biology, General

Test Scores

GRE Quantitative: 710


Reading, Sports, Going to the Beach, Travelling

Tutoring Subjects



College Biology

College Chemistry

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

Life Sciences