A photo of Emilie, a tutor from University of California-Berkeley

Emilie

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I just graduated UC Berkeley, earning Bachelor of Science degrees in both Microbial Biology and Environmental Science. I am really passionate about environmental management, microbes (especially fungi!), and biofuel research. And education.

I have previously worked as an SAT and college readiness tutor for low-income and first-generation college students, an experience which I absolutely loved. I love working with students. I also have years of experience as a private tutor, working with high school students in a variety of subjects. While I tutor many different subjects, my favorite subjects are SAT preparation, English (especially writing and editing skills), Math, and Biology.

Effective tutoring is very personal and requires work by both the tutor and student. I always try to work with my students on set common goals, and to identify clear strategies to meet those goals. Often, this involves motivation and stress management strategies as much as covering material.

When I’m not tutoring, I swing dance to big band music, cook dinner for my friends, backpack in the Sierras, and paint landscapes.

Emilie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of California-Berkeley - Bachelors, Microbial Biology and Environmental Sciences

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 34

ACT English: 36

ACT Math: 35

ACT Reading: 34

ACT Science: 30

SAT Composite: 2260

SAT Math: 710

SAT Verbal: 780

SAT Writing: 770

SAT Mathematics Level 2: 740

SAT Subject Test in Biology E/M: 770

SAT Subject Test in U.S. History: 760

Hobbies

Swing dancing, hiking, cooking, and painting