Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Matthew

I received my Bachelor of Arts degree from Rutgers University, where I majored in mathematics and minored in philosophy. After graduating from college, I received my law degree from Rutgers School of Law - Camden, and worked as an attorney. Currently, I am pursuing my master's degree in education at the University of Southern California, after which I plan on teaching high school mathematics. During college, I worked as an on-campus mathematics tutor for precalculus and calculus, and have also worked as a high school mathematics teacher for algebra and geometry. I can tutor any subject in mathematics, from the elementary level through the college level, and can also assist with preparation for the SAT and the GRE. Although my background in law has prepared me to tutor subjects such as history and English, my favorite subject to tutor is mathematics. In particular, I love teaching calculus, as I find it to be a particularly elegant area of mathematics, and I greatly enjoy passing on this enthusiasm for the subject to my students. Generating such genuine appreciation for the subject is a central part of my teaching philosophy, and I feel that the best way for a student to improve their abilities in mathematics is to personally engage with the material through practice.

Undergraduate Degree:

Rutgers University-New Brunswick - Bachelor in Arts, Mathematics

Graduate Degree:

Rutgers School of Law - Camden - Juris Doctor, Law

In my spare time, I enjoy playing music (I play the guitar and the piano), reading a wide variety of books, and playing chess.