A photo of Matthew, a tutor from University of Maryland

Matthew

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am getting ready to graduate with a M.S. in Chemistry from UC Berkeley. During my time at Cal, I worked extensively with undergraduate interns and worked as a teaching assistant for several Chemistry and a Microbiology course. As a researcher in Chemistry and Microbiology, I have a graduate level understanding of these fields, but during my time as a grad student, I discovered my true passion lies in teaching! I enjoy working with students to help them develop the knowledge and problem solving skills needed to succeed in Chemistry, Biology, and Mathematics courses, and also enjoy helping prospective grad students conquer the GRE Quantitative Section. These subject build upon a large and varied set of background information, and I find the challenge of teaching these sometimes difficult subjects exhilarating. By providing students with questions to help them build up their understanding of course material, and using teaching methods that cater to the many different learning styles, I have seen my students overcome challenging lecture material and excel in their exams. I look forward to expanding my work in teaching through tutoring and helping many more students reach their educational goals!

Matthew’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland - Bachelor of Science, Chemistry

Graduate Degree: University of California-Berkeley - Master of Science, Chemistry

Test Scores

AP Biology: 4

GRE Quantitative: 800

AP Statistics: 4

AP English Literature: 5

AP English Language: 4

AP US History: 4

Hobbies

guitar, running, hiking, and playing with my dog!