1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Laurie

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Laurie, a tutor from Cal Poly SLO

Laurie

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

As a graduate from Cal Poly SLO with a degree in Biological Sciences, I have worked as both an elephant keeper at the San Diego Safari Park and as a high school science teacher. I love science and teaching, especially Biology, and I plan on returning to teach at the high school level after my daughter is a little older. I am taking some time off to raise my family but want to stay connected to education through tutoring. I have tutored students in the past, and I love being able to work one on one and help students to gain knowledge and appreciation for science concepts. My favorite subject to tutor is Biology, and while I love all aspects of the subject, some of my favorite units to cover are plants, animals, and genetics. My style as a teacher/tutor is to guide the student through learning. I explain concepts, but also have students explain things to me so that I can check for learning and understanding. We will work together to figure out concepts, and I help students learn how to look up information in their textbooks or other sources so that they are responsible for their own learning. I am able to explain concepts several different ways in order to reach all learners, and I use analogies for clarification and concept retention. I have resources from my time as a teacher to supplement a student's textbook that I can use to expand on a subject. I am very organized and will pass on organizational skills to my students as well as important study skills that they can use throughout their education. I enjoy many things outside of teaching such as: hiking, mountain biking, going to the zoo or park with my daughter, reading, scrapbooking, camping, and traveling. My most recent travels include trips to Alaska and Oregon which puts me closer to visiting all 50 states!

Connect with a tutor like Laurie

Laurie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Cal Poly SLO - Bachelor of Science, Biological Sciences

Graduate Degree: Cal State San Marcos - Unknown, Single Subject Teaching Credential

State Certified Teacher

Hobbies

Mountain biking, reading, scrapbooking, hiking

Tutoring Subjects

AP Biology

Biology

College Biology

Earth Science

High School Biology

Science


Connect with a tutor like Laurie