A photo of Lauren, a tutor from University of California-Berkeley

Lauren

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I grew up in Redondo Beach, California, where I excelled in academics, music, and tennis. I went on to attend the University of California, Berkeley where I studied Social Welfare. During my undergraduate years, I further developed my abilities in music and Spanish. I credit my strong academic background for my extremely well-developed writing, test-taking, and study skills. After graduating from UC Berkeley in 2007, I had many experiences working with youth and children in social services and counseling settings as well as academic contexts. I found myself continuously drawn toward the academic realm, and in January of 2012 I entered a Master of Arts and teaching credential program in Special Education at the California State University, Dominguez Hills. For the past three years, I have been tutoring students in elementary, middle school, and early high school subjects, with a particular emphasis on Algebra and Pre-Algebra. Additionally, I have experience tutoring students with learning disabilities and other mild-to-moderate disabilities, as well as students who are classified as English Learners.

Lauren’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of California-Berkeley - Bachelor in Arts, Social Welfare

Test Scores

SAT Math: 720

SAT Writing: 700

Hobbies

Photography, cooking, gardening, swimming, playing music (flute, piano, guitar), learning languages, traveling

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Arithmetic

College Algebra

College English

Comparative Literature

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

Flute

High School English

HSPT Prep

Languages

Literature

Math

Middle School Math

Music

Phonics

Reading

Spanish 1

Test Prep

Writing