- Does Pinnacle's insurer have a duty to defend Westgate?
Answer: Yes, because the insurer knew facts showing Pinnacle's cable was a proximate cause of the fall and Westgate was not the sole cause.
Whenever you see a duty-to-defend question, remember the claim is not judged only by the complaint. The insurer must consider facts actually known to it that could bring the claim within coverage.
Here, the insurer knew from the accident report that Pinnacle's cable caused the fall. Under Mount Airy, "caused, in whole or in part, by" requires only that Pinnacle's conduct be a proximate cause. Because the known facts show Pinnacle played a causal role, Westgate was not the sole cause, so the sole-negligence exclusion does not apply. Therefore, the insurer must defend Westgate.
The choice saying "no, because the complaint alleges only Westgate's own negligence" is wrong: it ignores the insurer's independent knowledge, which triggers the duty to defend even if unpled. The choice claiming "Westgate's negligent failure to inspect was an independent cause" misunderstands the sole-negligence clause: coverage is barred only if the additional insured's liability rests entirely on its own conduct, and here Pinnacle's cable was also a cause. The choice saying coverage applies "to any liability arising out of Pinnacle's work, without regard to causation" is too broad; the endorsement expressly requires causation and excludes sole negligence of the additional insured.
On the exam, when an additional insured endorsement is involved, ask: What facts did the insurer know, and did the named insured contribute to the injury? If yes, the duty to defend is triggered regardless of how the plaintiff framed the complaint.
- Does SureGuard have a duty to defend Fitness Forge in either the state-court action or the arbitration?
Answer: It need not defend either, because the state-court complaint seeks only injunctive relief and costs rather than damages, and the arbitration is not a 'suit.'
Whenever you see a duty-to-defend question, remember that the duty is triggered by the allegations in the underlying pleading, but only if those allegations fall within both the coverage grant and the policy's defined terms. Here, two gates block coverage: the claim must seek "damages" and the proceeding must qualify as a "suit."
The correct answer is the one stating that SureGuard need not defend either proceeding. The state-court complaint seeks only injunctive relief—retraining staff and adopting safety protocols—plus costs. It does not seek "damages," so the suit does not trigger the duty to defend. The arbitration demand, while it asserts bodily injury, fails the second gate: the policy expressly defines "suit" as a civil proceeding and excludes arbitration proceedings. Therefore, neither proceeding triggers the duty.
The choice saying SureGuard must defend both because each alleges bodily injury and the duty is broader than indemnity is a trap. The duty to defend is indeed broader than indemnity, but it is not unlimited—it still requires a claim for damages and a covered "suit." The choice that would defend the state-court action but not the arbitration misses that the state-court complaint seeks no damages, only equitable relief. The choice saying the duty arises only after a judgment awarding damages misstates the rule: the duty to defend is measured at the outset of the litigation, not after judgment.
Your study tip: always read the prayer for relief and the policy's definitions carefully—"damages" and "suit" are gatekeeping terms on the bar exam.
- Under the policy, is the driver an insured for the pedestrian's claim?
Answer: Yes, because the sedan is a nonowned auto used in Fresh Foods' business by an employee, and the policy makes such an employee an insured.
Whenever you see a Business Auto Policy question, first identify the coverage symbols and then match the vehicle to the symbol and the user to the Who Is An Insured clause. Here, the declarations include symbol 9 for Nonowned Autos, and the policy defines a nonowned auto as one the employer does not own, lease, hire, rent, or borrow — including an employee's own auto while used in the employer's business. The driver was making deliveries with permission and within scope, so her sedan is a nonowned auto under symbol 9. Provision 4 then expressly makes any employee an insured while using a nonowned auto in your business. Therefore, she is insured for the pedestrian's claim.
The first wrong answer focuses on provision 2 and says she is not insured because Fresh Foods does not own, hire, or borrow the sedan. That ignores provision 4, which is the nonowned-auto grant. The answer claiming an employee-owned auto can never be a nonowned auto contradicts the definition: "nonowned" means not owned by the employer, not owned by no one. The remaining wrong answer reaches "yes" for the wrong reason: permission is enough under provision 2 only for a covered auto that Fresh Foods owns, hires, or borrows — the sedan is none of those, so provision 2 does not apply.
Strategy: On insurance questions, distinguish the coverage trigger from the insured trigger. Read definitions carefully; "nonowned" is a term of art meaning not owned by the named insured, not "unowned."
- Under the policy and Bergeron, is the shrubs' death property damage 'expected or intended' so that coverage is excluded?
Answer: Yes, because the foreman knew the shrubs' death was practically certain when he chose to spray.
Whenever you see an "expected or intended" exclusion, the key is the insured's knowledge before the harm, not the insured's wishes afterward. Here, Bergeron defines "expected" as knowing the injury or damage was practically certain to result. The foreman checked the weather, knew the wind would carry herbicide to the neighbor's shrubs, and knew it would kill them if he sprayed. That satisfies the practical-certainty standard, so the shrubs' death is excluded, regardless of his hope that the wind would calm. The correct choice is the one stating that the foreman knew the death was practically certain when he chose to spray.
The choice saying "No, because the foreman did not desire or intend to kill the shrubs" misses the distinction: "expected" and "intended" are separate, and Bergeron focuses on knowledge of practical certainty, not desire. Similarly, the choice saying "No, because death was not certain; he only knew a foreseeable risk" misreads the standard—practical certainty is stronger than mere foreseeability, and the foreman's own knowledge met that bar. Finally, the choice saying "Yes, because an intentional act that causes damage is always expected" overstates the rule: intentional application of herbicide is not automatically excluded; the consequences must be expected or intended from the insured's standpoint.
On exam day, when you see an expected/intended exclusion, ask: Did the insured know the harm was practically certain, not merely possible? Hope or motive is irrelevant.
- Which of the following best describes the insurer's coverage obligation for the roof-decking and interior-ceiling damage?
Answer: Both the roof decking and interior ceiling damage are covered; the subcontractor exception applies to the decking because Alpine performed it, and the ceilings are not Peak's work.
Whenever you see a completed-operations coverage question, think about whose work was damaged and whether a subcontractor did it. The key here is the subcontractor exception to the "your work" exclusion.
The roof decking is part of the roofing work and therefore falls within "your work" included in the products-completed operations hazard. Normally, the exclusion would bar coverage for it. But because Alpine Roofing, a subcontractor, performed the work on Peak's behalf, the exception applies: the exclusion does not apply if the damaged work was performed by a subcontractor. So the decking is covered. The interior ceilings are not Peak's work at all—they are other property damaged by the completed roofing work—so the "your work" exclusion never applies to them, and they are covered as well.
The wrong answer claiming interior ceilings are covered but roof decking is not misreads the exception: it does restore coverage for damage to the subcontractor's work itself, not just other property. The answer saying neither is covered ignores the subcontractor exception and wrongly treats the ceilings as Peak's work. And the answer saying decking is covered but ceilings are not gets the rule backwards—completed-operations coverage protects against damage to third-party property, not just damage to the insured's work product.
Study tip: always separate the insured's defective work from damage to other property, and remember the subcontractor exception can pull defective subcontractor work back into coverage.
- May Northgate properly deny coverage for the employee's claim?
Answer: No, unless Northgate can prove prejudice, because the policy is an occurrence policy and the statute applies.
Whenever you see an insurance coverage question involving late notice, your first move is to classify the policy as either occurrence-based or claims-made. That distinction drives everything: for occurrence policies, statutes often impose a "notice-prejudice" rule, meaning an insurer can only deny coverage if the delay actually harmed it. Here, the policy is occurrence-based, and the statute squarely applies—it prevents denial unless the insurer proves prejudice. Northgate denied solely on lateness, and Diversified's delay didn't hinder investigation, defense, or settlement. Since Northgate offered no evidence of prejudice, it cannot deny coverage.
Now consider the traps. The choice saying yes, because the policy expressly made timely notice a condition precedent to coverage misunderstands the hierarchy of law: a state statute overrides conflicting policy language, so the condition precedent cannot save Northgate. The choice saying yes, because the employee's claim was not made during the policy period and the claims-made rule applies is factually wrong—this is an occurrence policy, and the claims-made rule only applies to claims-made policies, which this is not. Finally, the choice saying no, because the statute eliminates the notice requirement entirely overstates the statute's effect. The statute does not wipe out the notice duty; it merely conditions a denial on a showing of prejudice, so a delay alone isn't fatal, but the duty still exists.
Your study tip: memorize the two buckets—occurrence policies require prejudice for late notice, while claims-made policies demand strict compliance regardless of prejudice. If a fact pattern mentions "occurrence-based," immediately look for whether the insurer proved actual harm.