Insurance Verification - Ccma

  1. A medical assistant is reviewing a provider's order for an MRI for a patient with a managed care plan. During the insurance verification process, the MA determines that prior authorization is required. Which of the following is the most critical next step?
    Answer: Initiate the prior authorization process with the insurance company before scheduling. The most critical step is to obtain prior authorization from the insurance company before the service is rendered. Scheduling the MRI without authorization will likely result in a denied claim, leaving the patient responsible for the full cost. It is premature to assume the service won't be covered, and changing the clinical order is outside the MA's scope of practice.
  2. While verifying a patient's insurance for an appointment, the electronic eligibility check returns a 'Coverage Terminated' status, effective the first of the previous month. The patient is adamant that they have active coverage. Which of the following actions should the medical assistant take?
    Answer: Advise the patient to contact their insurer to resolve the discrepancy and offer to reschedule or have them sign a financial waiver. The best approach is to empower the patient to resolve the issue with their insurance carrier or employer while protecting the practice financially. Offering to reschedule or having the patient sign a financial responsibility waiver are appropriate options. A physical card does not guarantee coverage, and proceeding as if covered is a financial risk.
  3. A patient presents to the clinic for an injury they state occurred at their workplace. The patient provides their personal health insurance card. What is the medical assistant's most important first step in the verification process?
    Answer: Ask the patient for the workers' compensation carrier information and a claim number. Work-related injuries must be billed to the employer's workers' compensation insurance, not the patient's personal health insurance. The first step is to identify the correct payer by obtaining the workers' compensation carrier information and claim number. Billing the wrong insurance will result in claim denial and payment delays.
  4. A patient's insurance verification reveals a $40 copayment for specialist visits and 30% coinsurance for outpatient procedures. The patient is having a procedure performed during their specialist visit. How should the medical assistant explain the patient's potential cost-sharing?
    Answer: The patient will pay the copayment for the visit, and then a percentage of the allowed cost for the procedure. In many plans, different types of cost-sharing apply to different services. A copayment may apply to the evaluation and management (office visit) portion of the service, while coinsurance (and any remaining deductible) would apply to the procedural portion. The other options misrepresent how these cost-sharing mechanisms work.
  5. A new patient calls the office and asks, 'Do you accept Blue Cross Blue Shield insurance?' The medical assistant knows the office participates with several, but not all, BCBS plans. What is the most appropriate response?
    Answer: 'We participate with many BCBS plans. Could you provide the specific plan name or your member ID so I can verify participation?' Insurance companies offer many different plans, and a provider may be in-network with some but not all. The most accurate and helpful response is to gather more specific information from the patient (like the plan name or member ID) to perform an exact verification. This provides good customer service and prevents potential out-of-network issues.
  6. A patient with a Medicaid card presents for an appointment. The medical assistant recognizes the patient from previous visits. Which of the following is the most important verification step for this patient?
    Answer: Verify eligibility for the current month, as Medicaid status can change monthly. Medicaid eligibility is often determined on a month-to-month basis. Therefore, it is crucial to verify eligibility for the current date of service at every visit, regardless of past visits or the presence of a physical card. A card does not guarantee current active coverage.
  7. A 68-year-old patient has Medicare and is also covered by their spouse's employer-sponsored group health plan. The spouse's employer has 50 employees. When verifying insurance, which plan should the medical assistant identify as the primary payer?
    Answer: The spouse's employer-sponsored plan. According to Medicare Secondary Payer (MSP) rules, if a Medicare-eligible individual is covered by a group health plan from current employment (their own or a spouse's) and the employer has 20 or more employees, the group health plan is the primary payer. Medicare becomes the secondary payer.
  8. A medical assistant is verifying eligibility for a patient who is a dependent on her spouse's insurance plan. The insurance portal requires the patient's unique member ID. The patient provides a card that only lists a 'Subscriber ID' for her spouse and a group number. Which of the following is the best course of action?
    Answer: Explain that a unique member ID is needed and ask if she has her own card or knows her ID number. Each individual covered by a plan, including dependents, typically has a unique member ID number. This is often the subscriber's ID with a suffix (e.g., -01, -02). Using only the subscriber's ID may fail or pull up the wrong individual's information. The best action is to communicate the need for the patient-specific ID to ensure accurate verification.
  9. A medical assistant is explaining a bill to a patient. The clinic's charge for the service was $200. The insurance plan's allowed amount is $150. The patient has met their deductible and is responsible for 10% coinsurance. What is the patient's responsibility for this service?
    Answer: $15 Patient cost-sharing is always calculated based on the insurance plan's allowed amount, not the provider's billed charge. The patient's responsibility is 10% of the $150 allowed amount, which is $15. The difference between the charge and the allowed amount ($50) is a contractual adjustment written off by the provider.
  10. A patient with a PPO plan receives a bill that is significantly higher than expected for a specialist visit. The medical assistant verifies the patient's benefits and confirms the specialist is out-of-network. Which of the following statements is the most appropriate explanation for the patient?
    Answer: Your plan has different cost-sharing for in-network and out-of-network providers, resulting in higher costs. The most accurate explanation is that PPO plans have different benefit levels for in-network versus out-of-network providers. Out-of-network services typically have higher deductibles, coinsurance, and out-of-pocket maximums, leading to greater patient financial responsibility.
  11. While preparing to submit an insurance claim, a medical assistant notes that the date of service was 125 days ago. The patient's insurance carrier has a 90-day timely filing limit. Which of the following outcomes is most likely?
    Answer: The claim will be denied, and the practice may have to write off the balance. Insurance carriers enforce timely filing limits strictly. If a claim is submitted after the deadline (in this case, 90 days), it will almost always be denied for that reason. The practice cannot typically bill the patient for its own administrative error, so the balance often becomes a contractual write-off.
  12. A patient's insurance plan has a $500 annual deductible, which has not been met. The plan also specifies a $25 copay for office visits and 20% coinsurance. The allowed amount for the patient's visit today is $180. What amount should the medical assistant collect from the patient at the time of service?
    Answer: $180 The correct amount to collect is $180. Because the patient's $500 deductible has not been met, they are responsible for 100% of the allowed amount for covered services until the deductible is satisfied. The $180 charge for the visit is applied toward the deductible. Copayments and coinsurance do not apply until after the annual deductible has been met.
  13. A medical assistant is verifying insurance for a child covered under both parents' health insurance plans. The mother's birthday is July 20, 1985, and the father's birthday is March 15, 1983. According to the birthday rule for coordination of benefits, which parent's insurance is considered primary?
    Answer: The father's, because his birthday occurs earlier in the calendar year. The birthday rule states that the primary plan is the one belonging to the parent whose birthday (month and day) comes first in the calendar year. The father's birthday is in March, and the mother's is in July. Therefore, the father's plan is primary. The year of birth is not a factor in this rule.
  14. A medical assistant performs an electronic eligibility check and receives the following information: 'Status: Active. Deductible: $1,500. Year-to-Date Met: $1,200. Coinsurance: 20%.' The allowed amount for today's office visit is $250. What is the patient's financial responsibility for this visit?
    Answer: $250 First, calculate the remaining deductible: $1,500 - $1,200 = $300. Since the allowed amount for the visit ($250) is less than the remaining deductible ($300), the patient is responsible for the full allowed amount of $250. This $250 payment will be applied toward their deductible, leaving $50 remaining to meet the deductible. Coinsurance will not apply until the deductible is fully met.
  15. A medical assistant is explaining insurance requirements to a new patient with an HMO plan. What is the key difference between a referral and a preauthorization?
    Answer: A referral is a request from a PCP to see a specialist, while a preauthorization is a determination of medical necessity from the insurer for a service. A referral is the process, common in HMOs, where a primary care physician (PCP) directs a patient to see a specialist. A preauthorization (or prior authorization) is a process where the insurance company must approve a service or medication as medically necessary before it is provided to ensure it will be covered.
  16. A patient required an urgent, unscheduled surgical procedure over the weekend. The patient's insurance plan normally requires preauthorization for this type of surgery. On Monday morning, what is the priority action for the medical assistant regarding insurance?
    Answer: Contact the insurance carrier immediately to request a retroactive authorization. Most insurance plans have provisions for emergency situations where preauthorization is not feasible. The standard procedure is to contact the insurance carrier as soon as possible after the emergency service (e.g., the next business day) to notify them and obtain a retroactive authorization. This proactive step is crucial for getting the claim paid correctly.
  17. While verifying benefits for a patient, the medical assistant notes the following: 'Deductible Met. Coinsurance Met. Out-of-Pocket Maximum Met.' For a medically necessary, covered service performed today, what is the patient's expected financial responsibility?
    Answer: $0 The out-of-pocket maximum is the most a patient will have to pay for covered services in a plan year. Once this maximum is met, the insurance plan pays 100% of the allowed amount for covered benefits. Therefore, the patient's financial responsibility for this service should be $0.
  18. During an insurance verification for a patient scheduled for a minor in-office surgical procedure, the medical assistant discovers the patient has a high-deductible health plan (HDHP) with a $5,000 deductible, none of which has been met. The estimated cost of the procedure is $800. What is the most appropriate action for the MA to take?
    Answer: Inform the patient of their estimated financial responsibility before the procedure and discuss payment options. The most professional and patient-centered approach is to provide financial counseling before the service. The MA should inform the patient that the $800 cost will be their responsibility and applied to their deductible, then discuss payment plans or options available through the clinic. This prevents surprise bills and improves patient satisfaction.
  19. A medical assistant uses the practice management software to perform a real-time eligibility (RTE) check for a patient. Which of the following pieces of information is LEAST likely to be included in the standard eligibility and benefits response?
    Answer: A guarantee of payment for a specific service. An eligibility check confirms that a policy is active and provides benefit details like deductibles and copayments. However, it is never a guarantee of payment. Payment is contingent on medical necessity, preauthorization requirements, and other policy provisions at the time a claim is processed.
  20. An established patient with Medicare Part B coverage presents for a scheduled annual wellness visit. The medical assistant is confirming coverage for the services provided. Which of the following services is typically covered under Medicare Part B?
    Answer: Outpatient physician visits and preventive services. Medicare Part B (Medical Insurance) covers outpatient care, including physician services, preventive care like annual wellness visits, and durable medical equipment. Part A covers inpatient hospital care, Part D covers prescription drugs, and long-term custodial care is generally not covered by Medicare.

Start this quiz