Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Maryhelen

I graduated from California State University, Fullerton and received my Bachelor of Science in Child Development with a minor in Psychology. After completing my undergraduate degree, I received Master of Science in Counseling. After I finished my studies in Counseling, I returned to school and attended California State University, Long Beach and received the Multiple Subject Teaching Credential. During the course of my studies, I worked as a tutor, because I always enjoyed helping children with their schoolwork.
I taught fourth and fifth grade for several years at a school where most of the children learned English as a Second Language. After teaching for several years, I decided to leave the classroom and return to education as a part -time tutor and an ESL instructor. I always enjoyed small group instruction or working one-on-one in order to help my students improve in their academics and become more confident.
I believe that a key element in successful tutoring is developing a relationship of trust and respect. I use my background in counseling and education as a means to empower my students in order to maximize their learning. In addition, I work to make our tutoring time enjoyable and hope that my students realize that reading a textbook or figuring out a math problem can be something to look forward to. I thoroughly enjoy working with the elementary child, and get excited when they make improvements and catch up to their grade level! In my spare time, I enjoy long walks, reading, cooking, eating nutritious food, and sewing.

Undergraduate Degree:

 CSUF - Bachelors, Child Developent

I like to take walks, sew, and cook.

College English

Elementary School Math

High School English

Homework Support

Other

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer