Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Elizabeth

Teaching has been a long time passion of mine. I have been working with students for over ten years. I find enjoyment out of sparking a love of learning in students, especially reluctant learners. I began working with students when I was 15 years old. I worked as a camp counselor developing lessons for students in an enrichment program. That was when I truly realized my love of teaching. The enjoyment student’s got out of lessons that I developed to meet all of their individual needs made the experience extremely worthwhile. From then on, I began working with students at a variety of levels. I began my college career as an elementary/special education major. I quickly added a minor in instructional technology to further deepen my understanding of how to meet the needs of students from a technology level. While working on obtaining my bachelor’s degree, I became a substitute teacher for students in grades k-8. After completing my undergraduate work at St. John Fisher in Rochester, NY; I immediately went to graduate school at the Sage College in Troy, NY. I was working towards a Master’s in literacy (b-6). While I was going to college full time, I began working as a teacher’s assistant in a local charter school. While at the charter school, I worked with students in 2nd grade. The following year, I accepted my first full time teaching position as a second grade teacher right across the hall! In 2014, I accepted a position teaching 5th grade at an inner city school. While working at the charter school, I was private tutoring students in grades 1-6 with a concentration in literacy and mathematics. I am currently working at a rural district in NY teaching 6th grade special education.

I currently hold degrees in elementary education (b-6), special education (b-6), and literacy (b-6). I have experience tutoring students in grades k-8. I primarily tutor elementary and middle school students in core subject areas. I specialize in ELA and mathematics. I also have experience with social studies and science curriculums. I have extensive experience working with the Common Core Learning Standards. My favorite subjects to teach are ELA and mathematics. I have a lot of experience in both and truly enjoy creating exciting lessons in both subjects.

I would describe my teaching philosophy as one that is based on the relationship between the teacher and student. I have experience working with a variety of students, and I find that the most successful students come from those who have a support system behind them. This support system is comprised of the teacher, student, and parent. I find that students are most successful when they feel they have a strong support system in their education. I believe in teaching all students based on their interest and learning style. I work hard to differentiate my instruction to meet the needs of each of the students. I believe that when a student is engaged in their learning they are more engaged in becoming successful learners.

Outside of teaching, I love spending time with my family and friends. I love to spend time outside. I particularly like to hike and paddleboard. I enjoy a good book as well as a good television show. I have also spent a lot of my free time over the years as a food manager at a local amusement park. It has been a wonderful experience that has taught me so much over the past ten years.

Undergraduate Degree:

 St. John Fisher College - Bachelors, Elementary/Special Education

Graduate Degree:

 Sage College - Masters, Literacy

Spending time with family and friend, Hiking, Reading, Technology, Television, Paddleboarding, Vacationing

College English

Comparative Literature

CST Prep

Elementary School Math

High School English

Homework Support

Other

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer