Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Annaleigh

I am a student at Juniata College in Pennsylvania studying Environmental Science and French. I am passionate about tutoring and I have worked as a tutor for international studentsl. I have been taking French for eight years and will study abroad this coming June. I firmly believe that every student is capable of reaching their full potential with the right training for them. I believe in the importance of tutor flexibility and I am willing to meet students where they are, accommodating a wide variety of student learning styles.
I have experience working with students in need of writing and reading assistance. I am also a qualified SAT tutor and ran the tutoring program at my High School, during which I gained experience training other tutors and teaching them a wide variety of strategies.
During my junior year, I completed a research project on language acquisition in second language learners. The focus of my study was on the importance of emotional support in academic settings. Since completing this study, I have retained a strong interest in this concept and work to make sure my students are confident in themselves in order to boost their academics. Everyone is capable of learning if they are taught with patience and flexibility.
In my spare time, I enjoy hiking, biking, camping, backpacking, ceramics and playing my guitar.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Juniata College - Current Undergrad, Environmental Science and French

SAT Verbal: 700

Hiking, backpacking, camping, guitar, ceramics

10th Grade Reading

10th Grade Writing

11th Grade Writing

12th Grade Writing

Adult Literacy

College English

High School English

High School Writing

What is your teaching philosophy?

Everyone has the ability to learn successfully if their needs are tailored to.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

Before learning can occur, a student must feel comfortable with self-expression. I think it is important to take a few minutes to get to know the student's hobbies and interests so that instruction can be tailored to them.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

It is important to encourage students to use resources online or at the library to do some form of self-studying before tutoring begins. This way, students have already learned what they can, and tutors can hone in on what they need most help in.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

It is always a good idea to tailor the lesson in some way to the student's interests. In some subjects this is easier than others.

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

I would make sure to be patient with them and would try my best to approach the skill/concept in a way that suits them best.

How do you help students who are struggling with reading comprehension?

I help students break down sentences and explain the meanings of one word at a time. This practice is slow at first, but helps a lot in the long run when they are reading on their own.

What strategies have you found to be most successful when you start to work with a student?

It is helpful to ask them a few questions about their interests and past academic experiences to be able to tailor lessons to their ability level and learning style.

How would you help a student get excited/engaged with a subject that they are struggling in?

I would try to relate the subject they are struggling in to a subject that they excel in so that they could attempt to see it in a new light.

What techniques would you use to be sure that a student understands the material?

I would make sure to go over things multiple times so that they could solidify new concepts in their minds. Also, I would ask them to teach the concepts back to me, because being able to teach a concept demonstrates a solid understanding of it.

How do you build a student's confidence in a subject?

In order to make sure students do not feel inadequate, it is important to reward them for their achievements. Also, having students teach the material back to you is a great way of showing them how much they know.

How do you evaluate a student's needs?

I evaluate a student's needs partially by their self-reported struggles, and also by gauging their abilities through sample questions.

How do you adapt your tutoring to the student's needs?

I can fluidly change my teaching style depending on what I perceive works for my students. For example, if a student responds better to visual depictions of concepts, I am always prepared with a sketchpad or a blackboard. If a student responds well to mnemonic devices, I will allow them to create those.

What types of materials do you typically use during a tutoring session?

I typically carry a notebook, markers, a whiteboard, a dictionary, and a calculator.