Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Kenzie

Attending a private Catholic school for nearly 16 years, I was no stranger to difficult courses, time management, and tutoring-- both ends of it, that is. It was not always easy keeping up with the rigorous demands of AP Biology, AP English Literature, and AP Calculus BC-- on top of being tennis captain-- but I found that keeping myself motivated, on my toes academically, and willing to reach out to others made everything much easier. I kept myself motivated by rewarding myself with things I love-- spending time with friends, hiking, biking, and watching Will Ferrell movies. Furthermore, I stayed on my toes academically by tutoring underclassmen in Biology, English, and Math. While I tutored students, I also received help from Varsity Tutors when I was preparing for the ACT. During my senior year of high-school, Varsity Tutors honestly changed my life, allowing me to succeed and attend the University of Colorado Boulder on scholarship.

Currently, I am a sophomore Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology major at Boulder and love every minute of it. However, when I am not studying or doing homework, I am either involved in my sorority (Kappa Alpha Theta), at the gym, or hiking up the beautiful Flatirons. Through my sorority, I carry on my tutoring work, primarily emphasizing chemistry and writing. While I help many girls with their courses, I believe that I have the opportunity to help a greater amount of students through Varsity Tutors. Overall, I hope to instill an academic and personal confidence in my students that will remain strong long after finals week.

Undergraduate Degree:

 University of Colorado Boulder - Current Undergrad, Molecular Biology

ACT Composite: 32

ACT English: 34

ACT Math: 32

ACT Reading: 33

ACT Science: 27

Writing, Hiking, Swimming, Biking, Exploring

Cell Biology

College Biology

College English

Comparative Literature

High School Biology

High School English

Molecular Biology

What is your teaching philosophy?

What I hope my students come to realize is that they have amazing gifts that will allow them to succeed in life. No one else has the power to access these gifts-- only the individual containing them. However, sometimes we bury these gifts with clutter-- typically stress, pessimism, and a lack of motivation. My ultimate goal as a teacher is to show my students that they already have the gifts they need to succeed whether it is known or not, and to allow them to remove this clutter in order to achieve their goals.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I always try to get to know the student on a one-on-one basis. No one can learn in an awkward and stressful environment. In such a way, I do not dive directly into content. I really want to know what type of person the student is and how they learn best-- through videos, writing, reading, solving problems, or playing games. Only after learning this information can I personalize my teaching to the individual.