Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Rebekah

I studied International Development at Cornell College and graduated Summa Cum Laude with my Bachelor of Arts in International Development. While in college, I worked as a Peer Tutor at Cornell College Writing Studio for three years. I worked with college students in all disciplines and at all different levels, from struggling freshman to thesis writing seniors. After graduation, I taught English as a Second Language to 450 6th-8th graders at a public school in India for a year. While in India I also worked at a local non-profit, teaching basic literacy skills to disadvantaged young girls.

I love teaching reading and writing, which luckily is involved in almost every subject! I am passionate about helping students who have a poor relationship with learning and only find it boring. Education should be about discovery and empowerment; it should never feel discouraging. As a tutor, I give tutees as much power and choice as possible in order to help them become independent learners. My teaching style revolves around their learning style and needs.

In my free time, I love to read and spend time with my family and cats. I enjoy reading, baking, and taking walks with my husband.

Undergraduate Degree:

 Cornell College - Bachelors, International Development

I love reading, crocheting, and volunteering.

10th Grade Reading

10th Grade Writing

11th Grade Reading

11th Grade Writing

12th Grade Reading

12th Grade Writing

6th Grade Reading

6th Grade Writing

7th Grade Reading

7th Grade Writing

8th Grade Reading

8th Grade Writing

9th Grade Reading

9th Grade Writing

Adult Literacy

College English

Comparative Literature

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

High School English

High School Writing

Homework Support

Middle School Reading

Middle School Writing

Other

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer

US History

What is your teaching philosophy?

Since high school, I have strongly agreed with William Butler Yeats when he said “Education is not the filling of a pail but the lighting of a fire.” It is a teacher’s job to facilitate a student’s learning journey; to guide them, not to drag them. At its core, education should be empowering for the student. As a teacher and tutor, I prefer to teach "how to" learn rather than teach facts and ideas.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

During a typical first session with a student, I'm most focused on making sure the student feels at ease and empowered. We'll get to know each other and then develop a tutoring plan. We will discuss the students' goals and where and how he or she is hoping to improve. Our first session would be relaxed, mainly focused on creating a comfortable relationship and space for the student to learn in.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

As William Butler Yeats said "Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire." Education is about discovery and empowerment, not memorization. To this end, my goal as a tutor and a teacher is for every student to become an independent learner. I have many different strategies for this, depending on the student. They vary from teaching specific reading comprehension skills, effective study habits, time management, or anything else the student needs in order to make the learning his or her own.