Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt

Nora

I am passionate about providing assistance to students and my experience in a classroom and home environment has demonstrated that I will find working with children extremely rewarding and that I would be well suited to being an excellent tutor. My studies to date have given me a firm grasp of my subject, Biology, as well as Chemistry, Physics, and Statistics, which are all part of my Bachelor’s of Science program at UCLA. I have an extensive understanding of core subjects including Mathematics, English and Science and feel that I would be able to convey these subjects to students in a creative, enjoyable and exciting way.
I have had over a year of experience as a Mentor for the Mentors for Academic and Peer Success program at UCLA where I worked with an afterschool class of about 20 students and assisted them with AP Coursework, SAT preparation, and college applications. Within this role, I worked with students one to one, supervised smaller groups within the classroom, and provided academic assistance to students outside of the classroom through email. Since September of 2015, I have also served as a private tutor for a high school student taking an AP Calculus course. For this student, I provide assistance with daily homework assignments, practice for upcoming examinations, and overall concept review for the AP Calculus exam.
These experiences have exposed me to the demands put on tutors both inside and outside of the study sessions. For example: the pressure of time management, dealing with parental concerns, and constructing a specific tutoring outline for every student. I believe that throughout my various experiences, I have developed the skills necessary to assist a student in achieving their maximum academic potential.
I am a confident person with good communication skills who is organized and punctual, qualities which I believe are essential in a great tutor. Further, I am very creative and enjoy sourcing materials that make learning interesting. Most importantly, my ability to work well with others, motivate, and inspire is a very significant contribution that I am certain I can bring to every tutoring session.

Undergraduate Degree:

 UCLA - Current Undergrad, Biology

ACT Math: 31

Swimming, hiking, cooking, binge watching TV shows, and organizing picnics.